340A.417 SHIPMENTS INTO MINNESOTA.
(a) Notwithstanding section
297G.07, subdivision 2
, or any provision of this chapter, a
winery licensed in a state other than Minnesota, or a winery located in Minnesota, may ship, for
personal use and not for resale, not more than two cases of wine, containing a maximum of nine
liters per case, in any calendar year to any resident of Minnesota age 21 or over. Delivery of a
shipment under this section may not be deemed a sale in this state.
(b) The shipping container of any wine sent under this section must be clearly marked
"Alcoholic Beverages: adult signature (over 21 years of age) required.".
(c) No person may (1) advertise shipments authorized under this section, (2) by advertisement
or otherwise, solicit shipments authorized by this section, or (3) accept orders for shipments
authorized by this section by use of the Internet. No shipper located outside Minnesota may
advertise interstate reciprocal wine shipments in Minnesota.
(d) It is not the intent of this section to impair the distribution of wine through distributors or
importing distributors, but only to permit shipments of wine for personal use.
(e) No criminal penalty may be imposed on a person for a violation of this section other than
a violation described in paragraph (f) or (g). Whenever it appears to the commissioner that any
person has engaged in any act or practice constituting a violation of this section, and the violation
is not within two years of any previous violation of this section, the commissioner shall issue and
cause to be served upon the person an order requiring the person to cease and desist from violating
this section. The order must give reasonable notice of the rights of the person to request a hearing
and must state the reason for the entry of the order. Unless otherwise agreed between the parties,
a hearing shall be held not later than seven days after the request for the hearing is received by
the commissioner after which and within 20 days after the receipt of the administrative law
judge's report and subsequent exceptions and argument, the commissioner shall issue an order
vacating the cease and desist order, modifying it, or making it permanent as the facts require. If
no hearing is requested within 30 days of the service of the order, the order becomes final and
remains in effect until modified or vacated by the commissioner. All hearings shall be conducted
in accordance with the provisions of chapter 14. If the person to whom a cease and desist order
is issued fails to appear at the hearing after being duly notified, the person shall be deemed in
default, and the proceeding may be determined against the person upon consideration of the cease
and desist order, the allegations of which may be deemed to be true.
(f) Any person who violates this section within two years of a violation for which a cease
and desist order was issued under paragraph (e), is guilty of a misdemeanor.
(g) Any person who commits a third or subsequent violation of this section, including a
violation for which a cease and desist order was issued under paragraph (c), within any subsequent
two-year period is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
History: 1993 c 350 s 12; 1997 c 129 art 1 s 7; 1997 c 179 art 2 s 5; 1999 c 202 s 6;
2005 c 131 s 5