340A.408 RETAIL LICENSE FEES.
Subdivision 1. 3.2 percent malt liquor.
(a) The license fee for an on-sale and off-sale 3.2
percent malt liquor license is the fee set by the county or city issuing the license.
(b) One-half of the license fee received by a county for a retail license to sell 3.2 percent malt
liquor within any town in the county shall be paid to the town board where the business is located.
Subd. 2. Intoxicating liquor; on-sale.
(a) The license fee for a retail on-sale intoxicating
liquor license is the fee set by the city or county issuing the license subject to the limitations
imposed under this subdivision. The license fee is intended to cover the costs of issuing and
inspecting and other directly related costs of enforcement.
(b) The annual license fee for an on-sale intoxicating liquor license issued by a municipality
to a club must be no greater than:
(1) $300 for a club with under 200 members;
(2) $500 for a club with between 201 and 500 members;
(3) $650 for a club with between 501 and 1,000 members;
(4) $800 for a club with between 1,001 and 2,000 members;
(5) $1,000 for a club with between 2,001 and 4,000 members;
(6) $2,000 for a club with between 4,001 and 6,000 members; or
(7) $3,000 for a club with over 6,000 members.
(c) The license fee for the issuance of a wine license may not exceed one-half of the license
fee charged for an on-sale intoxicating liquor license, or $2,000, whichever is less.
(d) The town board of a town in which an on-sale establishment has been licensed by a
county may impose an additional license fee on each such establishment in an amount not to
exceed 20 percent of the county license fee.
Subd. 3. Intoxicating liquor; off-sale.
(a) The annual license fee for an off-sale intoxicating
liquor license issued by a city, when combined with any occupation tax imposed by the city,
may not exceed the following limits:
(1) $1,000 for cities of the first class;
(2) $200 for cities over 10,000 other than cities of the first class;
(3) $150 for cities of between 5,000 and 10,000 population; and
(4) $100 for cities with less than 5,000 population.
(b) The annual license fee for an off-sale intoxicating liquor license issued by a county or
town shall not exceed $500.
Subd. 3a. Fee increases; notice, hearing.
No city, town, or county shall increase the fee
for a liquor license governed by subdivision 1, 2, or 3, except after notice and hearing on the
proposed increase. Notice of the proposed increase must be mailed to all affected licensees at
least 30 days before the date set for the hearing. This subdivision supersedes any inconsistent
provision of law or charter.
Subd. 4. Lake Superior, St. Croix River, and Mississippi River tour boats; common
(a) The annual license fee for licensing of Lake Superior, St. Croix River, and Mississippi
River tour boats under section
340A.404, subdivision 8
, shall be $1,500. The commissioner shall
transmit one-half of this fee to the governing body of the city that is the home port of the tour boat
or to the county in which the home port is located if the home port is outside a city.
(b) The annual license fee for common carriers licensed under section
(1) $50 for 3.2 percent malt liquor, and $20 for a duplicate license; and
(2) $250 for intoxicating liquor, and $30 for a duplicate license.
Subd. 5. Refunds.
A pro rata share of an annual license fee for a retail license to sell
intoxicating or 3.2 percent malt liquor, either on-sale or off-sale, may be refunded to the licensee
or to the licensee's estate if:
(1) the business ceases to operate because of destruction or damage;
(2) the licensee dies;
(3) the business ceases to be lawful for a reason other than a license revocation; or
(4) the licensee ceases to carry on the licensed business under the license.
History: 1985 c 305 art 6 s 8; 1987 c 152 art 1 s 1; 1989 c 104 s 1; 1991 c 249 s 11,31; 1992
c 486 s 8; 1992 c 513 art 3 s 59; 1996 c 418 s 7; 2005 c 136 art 8 s 16