Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Generally. (a) The county auditor may license any person having the
qualifications specified in clause (b) of this subdivision as an auctioneer. The license shall be
issued by the auditor and shall authorize the licensee to conduct the business of an auctioneer in
the state of Minnesota for the period of one year. It shall be recorded by the auditor in a book
kept for that purpose. The license must specify the county issuing the license and must contain a
number that individually identifies the auctioneer holding the license. Before the license is issued
the applicant shall pay into the county treasury a fee of $20.
(b) A natural person is qualified to be licensed as an auctioneer if 18 years of age or over
and a resident of the county of application for at least six months immediately preceding the date
of application. No copartnership, association or corporation may be licensed as an auctioneer.
However, nothing in this subdivision shall be construed as preventing auctioneers who are duly
licensed in accordance with the provisions of this chapter, from combining in associations,
copartnerships, or corporations, provided that each and every member of these associations or
copartnerships and each and every person or agent conducting auction sales on behalf of these
corporations is a duly licensed auctioneer as provided in this chapter. Nothing herein shall be
construed to apply to the owner of property for at least six months selling it at an auction.
    Subd. 2.[Repealed, 1965 c 874 s 10]
History: (7322) RL s 2813; 1901 c 249; 1913 c 11 s 1; 1917 c 87 s 1; 1927 c 173; 1937 c
313 s 1; 1941 c 170; 1943 c 311 s 1; 1949 c 516 s 1; 1965 c 874 s 1; 1969 c 399 s 1; 1969 c 737 s
1; 1973 c 725 s 58; 3Sp1981 c 2 art 1 s 57; 1986 c 444; 2004 c 251 s 14; 2005 c 32 s 1