Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

326.48 LICENSING.
    Subdivision 1. License required; rules; time credit. No person shall engage in or work at
the business of a contracting pipefitter unless issued an individual contracting pipefitter license
to do so by the Department of Labor and Industry. No license shall be required for repairs on
existing installations. No person shall engage in or work at the business of journeyman pipefitter
unless issued an individual journeyman pipefitter competency license to do so by the Department
of Labor and Industry. A person possessing an individual contracting pipefitter competency
license may also work as a journeyman pipefitter.
No person, partnership, firm, or corporation shall install high pressure piping, nor install high
pressure piping in connection with the dealing in and selling of high pressure pipe material and
supplies, unless, at all times, a person possessing a contracting pipefitter individual competency
license or a journeyman pipefitter individual competency license is responsible for the high
pressure pipefitting work conducted by the person, partnership, firm, or corporation being in
conformity with Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules.
The Department of Labor and Industry shall prescribe rules, not inconsistent herewith, for
the examination and individual competency licensing of contracting pipefitters and journeyman
pipefitters and for issuance of permits by the department and municipalities for the installation of
high pressure piping.
An employee performing the duties of inspector for the Department of Labor and Industry
in regulating pipefitting shall not receive time credit for the inspection duties when making an
application for a license required by this section.
    Subd. 2. High pressure pipefitting business license. Before obtaining a permit for high
pressure piping work, a person, partnership, firm, or corporation must obtain or utilize a business
with a high pressure piping business license.
A person, partnership, firm, or corporation must have at all times as a full-time employee
at least one individual holding an individual contracting pipefitter competency license. Only
full-time employees who hold individual contracting pipefitter licenses are authorized to obtain
high pressure piping permits in the name of the business. The individual contracting pipefitter
competency license holder can be the employee of only one high pressure piping business at a
time.
To retain its business license without reapplication, a person, partnership, firm, or corporation
holding a high pressure piping business license that ceases to employ a person holding an
individual contracting pipefitter competency license shall have 60 days from the last day of
employment of its previous individual contracting pipefitter competency license holder to employ
another license holder. The Department of Labor and Industry must be notified no later than five
days after the last day of employment of the previous license holder.
No high pressure pipefitting work may be performed during any period when the high
pressure pipefitting business does not have an individual contracting pipefitter competency license
holder on staff. If a license holder is not employed within 60 days, the pipefitting business license
shall lapse.
The Department of Labor and Industry shall prescribe by rule procedures for application for
and issuance of business licenses and fees.
    Subd. 3. Bond. The applicant for a high pressure piping business license or renewal shall
give bond to the state in the total penal sum of $15,000 conditioned upon the faithful and lawful
performance of all work entered upon within the state. The bond shall run to and be for the benefit
of persons injured or suffering financial loss by reason of failure of payment or performance.
Claims and actions on the bond may be brought according to sections 574.26 to 574.38.
The term of the bond must be concurrent with the term of the high pressure pipefitting
business license and run without interruption from the date of the issuance of the license to
the end of the calendar year. All high pressure pipefitting business licenses must be annually
renewed on a calendar year basis.
The bond must be filed with the Department of Labor and Industry and shall be in lieu of any
other business license bonds required by any political subdivision for high pressure pipefitting.
The bond must be written by a corporate surety licensed to do business in the state.
    Subd. 4. Insurance. In addition to the bond described in subdivision 3, each applicant for a
high pressure pipefitting business license or renewal shall have in force public liability insurance,
including products liability insurance, with limits of at least $100,000 per person and $300,000
per occurrence and property damage insurance with limits of at least $50,000.
The insurance must be kept in force for the entire term of the high pressure pipefitting
business license, and the license shall be suspended by the department if at any time the insurance
is not in force.
The insurance must be written by an insurer licensed to do business in the state and shall
be in lieu of any other insurance required by any subdivision of government for high pressure
pipefitting. Each person, partnership, firm, or corporation holding a high pressure pipefitting
business shall maintain on file with the department a certificate evidencing the insurance. Any
purported cancellation of insurance shall not be effective without the insurer first giving 30
days' written notice to the department.
    Subd. 5. Fee. The state Department of Labor and Industry may charge each applicant for a
high pressure pipefitting business license or for a renewal of a high pressure pipefitting business
license and an additional fee commensurate with the cost of administering the bond and insurance
requirements of subdivisions 3 and 4.
History: (5887-30d) 1937 c 367 s 5; Ex1967 c 1 s 6; 1978 c 604 s 2; 1979 c 50 s 40; 1981 c
72 s 1; 1984 c 481 s 4; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 132 s 3; 1995 c 123 s 1-5; 2004 c 251 s 13