Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

248.011 REPORTING OF NEWLY BLINDED INDIVIDUAL.
    Subdivision 1. Duty to report. Whenever an ophthalmologist or optometrist makes an initial
diagnosis of legal blindness as defined in section 256D.35, subdivision 4a, the ophthalmologist or
optometrist shall advise the client that services are available through Minnesota State Services
for the Blind. After obtaining client consent, the ophthalmologist or optometrist shall report the
name of the legally blind client to Minnesota State Services for the Blind. The report must be
filed with Minnesota state services for the blind within 30 days following a diagnosis of legal
blindness after obtaining client consent.
    Subd. 2. Duties of Minnesota State Services for the Blind. Upon receipt of the name of
a legally blind individual, Minnesota State Services for the Blind shall contact the newly blind
individual within 30 days and provide a complete summary of available services to the blind
individual, in media accessible to the individual.
History: 1992 c 470 s 1; 1995 c 82 s 1