Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

168A.151 SALVAGE TITLE; JUNKING CERTIFICATE.
    Subdivision 1. Salvage titles. (a) When an insurer, licensed to conduct business in
Minnesota, acquires ownership of a late-model or high-value vehicle through payment of
damages, the insurer shall immediately apply for a salvage certificate of title or shall stamp the
existing certificate of title with the legend "SALVAGE CERTIFICATE OF TITLE" in a manner
prescribed by the department. Within 48 hours of taking possession of a vehicle through payment
of damages, an insurer must notify the department in a manner prescribed by the department.
(b) Any person who acquires a damaged motor vehicle with an out-of-state title and the cost
of repairs exceeds the value of the damaged vehicle or a motor vehicle with an out-of-state
salvage title or certificate, as proof of ownership, shall immediately apply for a salvage certificate
of title. A self-insured owner of a late-model or high-value vehicle who sustains damage by
collision or other occurrence which exceeds 70 percent of its actual cash value shall immediately
apply for a salvage certificate of title. Damage, for the purpose of this calculation, does not
include the actual cost incurred to repair, replace, or reinstall inflatable safety restraints and other
vehicle components that must be replaced due to the deployment of the inflatable safety restraints.
    Subd. 2.[Repealed, 1993 c 93 s 20]
    Subd. 3.[Repealed, 1993 c 93 s 20]
    Subd. 4. Junking certificate required. When a person acquires ownership of a vehicle that
is an unrepairable total loss vehicle, the person shall surrender the assigned certificate of title to
the department and apply for a junking certificate of title.
    Subd. 5.[Repealed, 1993 c 93 s 20]
    Subd. 6. Authority under junking certificate. A junking certificate authorizes the holder
only to possess and transport the vehicle, except that a salvage pool or insurance company, or
its agent, may sell an unrepairable total loss vehicle with a junking certificate to a licensed used
parts dealer.
History: 1988 c 496 s 19; 1989 c 342 s 14; 1993 c 93 s 9-11; 2005 c 94 s 2