Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

168.327 DRIVER AND VEHICLE RECORD FEES.
    Subdivision 1. Records and fees. (a) Upon request by any person authorized in this section,
the commissioner shall furnish a certified copy of any driver's license record, instruction permit
record, Minnesota identification card record, vehicle registration record, vehicle title record, or
accident record.
(b) Other than accident records governed under section 169.09, subdivision 13, the requester
shall pay a fee of $10 for each certified record specified in paragraph (a) or a fee of $9 for each
record that is not certified.
(c) In addition to the record fee in paragraph (b), the fee for a copy of the history of any
vehicle title not in electronic format is $1 for each page of the historical record.
(d) Fees collected under paragraph (b) for driver's license, instruction permit, and Minnesota
identification card records must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of each fee credited
to the general fund. The remainder of the fees collected must be credited to the driver services
operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.
(e) Fees collected under paragraphs (b) and (c) for vehicle registration or title records
must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of each fee credited to the general fund. The
remainder of the fees collected must be credited to the vehicle services operating account in the
special revenue fund specified in section 299A.705.
(f) The commissioner shall permit a person to inquire into a record by the person's own
electronic means for a fee of $4.50 for each inquiry, except that no fee may be charged when the
requester is the subject of the data.
(1) Of the $4.50 fee, $2.70 must be deposited in the general fund.
(2) For driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card records, the
remainder must be deposited in the driver services operating account in the special revenue
fund under section 299A.705.
(3) For vehicle title or registration records, the remainder must be deposited in the vehicle
services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.
(g) Fees and the deposit of the fees for accident records and reports are governed by section
169.09, subdivision 13.
    Subd. 2. Requests for information; surcharge on fee. (a) Except as otherwise provided in
subdivision 3, the commissioner shall impose a surcharge of 50 cents on each fee charged by the
commissioner under section 13.03, subdivision 3, for copies or electronic transmittals of public
information about the registration of a vehicle or an applicant, or holder of a driver's license,
instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card.
(b) The surcharge only applies to a fee imposed in response to a request made in person or
by mail, or to a request for transmittal through a computer modem. The surcharge does not
apply to the request of an individual for information about that individual's driver's license,
instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card or about vehicles registered or titled in the
individual's name.
(c) The surcharges collected under this subdivision must be credited to the general fund.
    Subd. 3. Exception to fee and surcharge. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 2 or section
13.03, a fee or surcharge may not be imposed in response to a request for public information about
the registration of a vehicle if the commissioner is satisfied that:
(1) the requester seeks the information on behalf of a community-based, nonprofit
organization designated by a local law enforcement agency to be a requester; and
(2) the information is needed to identify suspected prostitution law violators, controlled
substance law violators, or health code violators.
(b) The commissioner shall not require a requester under paragraph (a) to make a minimum
number of data requests or limit the requester to a maximum number of data requests.
History: 1Sp2005 c 6 art 2 s 25