Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

(a) The owner of (1) any farm truck as defined in section 168.011, subdivision 17, or (2) a
truck owned by a retailer who is engaged in the intrastate transportation of fertilizer or agricultural
chemicals directly to a farm for on-farm use within a radius of 50 miles of the retailer's business
location, may elect to register and license the truck only for one or more quarters of a registration
year, at a tax of one-fourth of the annual tax on the vehicle plus $5 for each quarterly registration.
The owner may not apply for quarterly registration or renewal until seven days before the selected
quarter or concurrent quarters. The expiration date of a registration shall be displayed on the
license plate in such a manner as the registrar shall direct. No truck registered on a quarterly basis
shall be operated on the public streets and highways more than ten days beyond the end of the
quarter for which it is registered unless the registration has been renewed for another quarter
or for the remainder of the registration year.
(b) For purposes of this section registration quarters shall begin on March 1, June 1,
September 1, and December 1.
History: 1981 c 363 s 20; 1984 c 549 s 5; 1997 c 159 art 2 s 12

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes