Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. General. A pharmacy technician may assist a pharmacist in the practice of
pharmacy by performing nonjudgmental tasks and works under the personal and direct supervision
of the pharmacist. A pharmacist may supervise two technicians, as long as the pharmacist assumes
responsibility for all the functions performed by the technicians. A pharmacy may exceed the
ratio of pharmacy technicians to pharmacists permitted in this subdivision or in rule by a total
of one technician at any given time in the pharmacy, provided at least one technician in the
pharmacy holds a valid certification from the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board or from
another national certification body for pharmacy technicians that requires passage of a nationally
recognized, psychometrically valid certification examination for certification as determined
by the Board of Pharmacy. The Board of Pharmacy may, by rule, set ratios of technicians to
pharmacists greater than two to one for the functions specified in rule. The delegation of any
duties, tasks, or functions by a pharmacist to a pharmacy technician is subject to continuing
review and becomes the professional and personal responsibility of the pharmacist who directed
the pharmacy technician to perform the duty, task, or function.
    Subd. 2. Waivers by board permitted. A pharmacist in charge in a pharmacy may
petition the board for authorization to allow a pharmacist to supervise more than two pharmacy
technicians. The pharmacist's petition must include provisions addressing the maintenance of
patient care and safety. A petition filed with the board under this subdivision shall be deemed
approved 90 days after the board receives the petition, unless the board denies the petition
within 90 days of receipt and notifies the petitioning pharmacist of the petition's denial and the
board's reasons for denial.
History: 1997 c 132 s 3; 1999 c 63 s 1; 2000 c 276 s 1

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes