Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

487.19 Concurrent jurisdiction.

Subdivision 1. Jurisdiction. The county court shall have concurrent jurisdiction in the following cases:

(a) proceedings for the administration of trust estates or actions relating thereto;

(b) proceedings for divorce, annulment, and legal separation, and actions related thereto, as prescribed by chapter 518;

(c) proceedings under the reciprocal enforcement of support act, chapter 518C;

(d) proceedings for adoption and change of name under chapter 259;

(e) proceedings to quiet title to real estate and real estate mortgage foreclosures by action; and

(f) proceedings for the determination of paternity of and establishment and enforcement of child support payments for a child born to a mother who was not married to the child's father when the child was conceived nor when the child was born.

Subd. 2. Transfer of jurisdiction. Any action within the jurisdiction of the county court commenced in the district court may be transferred to the county court for trial or other proceedings upon the motion of any party, or upon the motion of the district court.

Subd. 3. Transfer after disqualification. Where the county court judge or judges in a county court district are disqualified from hearing a matter within concurrent jurisdiction of the county and district courts, or where the district court judge otherwise agrees to hear a matter, said matter shall be transferred to the district court for further proceedings.

HIST: 1971 c 951 s 19; 1973 c 679 s 13; 1977 c 282 s 12; 1978 c 772 s 62; 1983 c 7 s 12; 1983 c 243 s 5 subd 10

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes