297I.95 Administrative appeals.
Subdivision 1. Taxpayer right to reconsideration. A taxpayer may obtain the commissioner's reconsideration of an order assessing tax or surcharge, a denial of a request for abatement of penalty or interest, or a denial of a claim for refund by filing an administrative appeal under subdivision 4. No reconsideration is allowed under this section if the action taken by the commissioner is the outcome of an administrative appeal.
Subd. 2. Appeal by taxpayer. A taxpayer who wishes to seek administrative review must follow the procedures in subdivision 4.
Subd. 3. Notice date. For purposes of this section, the term "notice date" means the date of the order adjusting the tax or surcharge or order denying a request for abatement, or, in the case of a denied refund, the date of the notice of denial.
Subd. 4. Time and content for administrative appeal. Within 60 days after the notice date, the taxpayer must file a written appeal with the commissioner. The appeal need not be in any particular form but must contain the following information:
(1) name and address of the taxpayer;
(2) if a corporation, the state of incorporation of the taxpayer, and the principal place of business of the corporation;
(3) the Minnesota identification number or Social Security number of the taxpayer;
(4) the type of tax or surcharge involved;
(5) the date;
(6) the tax years or periods involved and the amount of tax or surcharge involved for each year or period;
(7) the findings in the notice that the taxpayer disputes;
(8) a summary statement that the taxpayer relies on for each exception; and
(9) the taxpayer's signature or signature of the taxpayer's duly authorized agent.
Subd. 5. Extensions. When requested in writing and within the time allowed for filing an administrative appeal, the commissioner may extend the time for filing an appeal for a period not more than 30 days after the expiration of the 60 days after the notice date.
Subd. 6. Determination of appeal. Based on applicable law and available information, the commissioner shall determine whether the appeal is valid. The commissioner shall find the appeal valid in whole, valid in part, or invalid, and shall notify the taxpayer of the decision. This notice must be in writing and must state the reasons for the determination.
Subd. 7. Agreement determining tax liability. When it appears to be in the best interests of the state, the commissioner may settle any taxes, surcharges, penalties, or interest that the commissioner has under consideration by virtue of an appeal filed under this section. An agreement must be in writing and signed by the commissioner and the taxpayer, or by the taxpayer's representative authorized by the taxpayer to enter into an agreement. The agreement is final and, except upon a showing of fraud, malfeasance, or misrepresentation of a material fact, the case must not be reopened as to the matters agreed upon.
Subd. 8. Appeal of an administrative determination. After deciding an appeal, the commissioner shall issue an order reflecting that decision. The order must be issued notwithstanding any statute of limitations for making assessments or other determinations. If the statute of limitations for making assessments or other determinations would have expired before the issuance of this order, except for this section, the order is limited to issues or matters contained in the appealed determination. The order is appealable to the Minnesota Tax Court under section 271.06.
Subd. 9. Appeal where no determination. If the commissioner does not make a determination within six months after the filing of an administrative appeal, the taxpayer may appeal to Tax Court.
Subd. 10. Exemption from Administrative Procedure Act. This section is not subject to the contested case procedures of chapter 14.
HIST: 2000 c 394 art 1 s 20