Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

253B.095 Release before commitment.

Subdivision 1. Court release. (a) After the hearing and before a commitment order has been issued, the court may release a proposed patient to the custody of an individual or agency upon conditions that guarantee the care and treatment of the patient.

(b) A person against whom a criminal proceeding is pending may not be released.

(c) A continuance for dismissal, with or without findings, may be granted for up to 90 days.

(d) When the court stays an order for commitment for more than 14 days beyond the date of the initially scheduled hearing, the court shall issue an order that must include:

(1) a written plan for services to which the proposed patient has agreed;

(2) a finding that the proposed treatment is available and accessible to the patient and that public or private financial resources are available to pay for the proposed treatment; and

(3) conditions the patient must meet to avoid revocation of the stayed commitment order and imposition of the commitment order.

(e) A person receiving treatment under this section has all rights under this chapter.

Subd. 2. Case manager. When a court releases a patient under this section, the court shall direct the case manager to report to the court at least once every 90 days and shall immediately report a substantial failure of a patient or provider to comply with the conditions of the release.

Subd. 3. Duration. The maximum duration of a stayed order under this section is six months. The court may continue the order for a maximum of an additional 12 months if, after notice and hearing, under sections 253B.08 and 253B.09 the court finds that (1) the person continues to be mentally ill, chemically dependent, or mentally retarded, and (2) an order is needed to protect the patient or others.

Subd. 4. Modification of order. An order under this section may be modified upon agreement of the parties and approval of the court.

Subd. 5. Revocation of order. The court, on its own motion or upon the motion of any party that the patient has not complied with a material condition of release, and after notice and a hearing unless otherwise ordered by the court, may revoke any release and commit the proposed patient under this chapter.

Subd. 6. Renumbered subdivision 4

Subd. 7. Renumbered subdivision 5

HIST: 1988 c 623 s 8; 1997 c 217 art 1 s 62; 1998 c 313 s 11

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes