For the first copy of the appropriate record as defined in part 5221.0100, subpart 1b, when provided by the health care provider to the payer as defined in part 5221.0100, subpart 11, to substantiate the service being billed, a charge not to exceed 75 cents per page is reasonable. This amount applies whether the record is provided with the billing, under separate cover, or in response to a request by the payer for an appropriate record which has not been submitted with the bill.
For all other copies of existing medical records or data that are not specifically addressed in subpart 1 or in Minnesota Statutes, section 176.155, or any other Minnesota statute or rule, a charge is reasonable if the total charge for each submission following a request does not exceed the sum of $10 as a retrieval fee and 75 cents per page.
In addition to the charges in subparts 1 and 2, the health care provider may charge actual postage, any applicable Minnesota sales tax, and notary fees, if notarization is requested.
The requester must reimburse the health care provider within 30 days of receipt of the copies requested.
15 SR 800
January 5, 2011
Copyright © 2011 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All rights reserved.