Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

9575.1180 APPEAL FROM DISMISSAL, SUSPENSION, OR DEMOTION.

Subpart 1.

Right to appeal.

Any permanent employee who has not appealed under the provisions of a grievance procedure contained in a collective bargaining agreement may appeal any dismissal, suspension of more than five consecutive working days or ten working days in a calendar year, or reduction in pay or position to the council. The council shall review the action for compliance with the procedural requirements of parts 9575.0900 to 9575.0980 and whether or not the action was taken for just cause.

Subp. 2.

Time of hearing.

The merit system supervisor shall make every effort to establish a hearing date within 30 days of receiving an appeal. If scheduling conflicts prevent that from occurring, the supervisor shall establish a hearing date as soon as reasonably possible, but no more than 90 days from the date the appeal was received.

Subp. 3.

Recommendation.

After the hearing, the council shall make a recommendation to the appointing authority. Within 30 days of receiving the recommendation, the appointing authority shall make the final decision.

Subp. 4.

Veterans.

Any veteran covered under the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 197.46 shall not be removed except for incompetency or misconduct shown after a hearing upon due written notice which includes a statement of charges.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 256.012

History:

25 SR 556

Published Electronically:

October 15, 2013