Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

9500.1231 ASSISTANCE STANDARDS.

Subpart 1.

Standard, single individual.

Except as provided in subpart 2, the standard of assistance for a single adult who does not reside with his or her parents; an adult applicant or recipient who resides with his or her parents and those parents have no minor children; or an emancipated minor applicant or recipient is $203 per month. The standard in this subpart shall be increased by the same percentage as any increase in subpart 4.

Subp. 2.

Standard, individuals residing in a nursing home, negotiated rate facility, or regional treatment center.

The standard of assistance for an assistance unit composed of one individual who resides in a nursing home, negotiated rate facility, or regional treatment center is the amount established as the clothing and personal needs allowance for medical assistance recipients under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.35, subdivision 1.

Subp. 3.

Standard, married couples without children.

The standards of assistance for a married couple without children are the same as the first and second adult standards under subpart 4. If one member of the couple is not included in the general assistance grant, the standard for the other is the second adult standard under subpart 4.

Subp. 4.

Standards, filing units with a minor child.

The county agency shall use the standards in items A to M to determine the amount of assistance for a filing unit with a minor child or children. The standard of assistance shall increase or decrease to remain equal to the equivalent MFIP standards under part 9500.2440, subpart 6:

A.

first adult, $187;

B.

second adult, $73;

C.

first child, $250;

D.

second child, $95;

E.

third child, $89;

F.

fourth child, $76;

G.

fifth child, $76;

H.

sixth child, $77;

I.

seventh child, $66;

J.

eighth child, $64;

K.

ninth child, $55;

L.

tenth child, $54; and

M.

each additional child, $53.

Subp. 5.

Standard, single adult residing with parents with minor children.

A single adult applicant or recipient who resides with his or her parents who have minor children will receive a child standard from subpart 4 as though the single adult were an additional minor child added to an assistance unit composed of the parent and minor child or children.

Subp. 6.

Standard, assistance unit composed of part or all members of a family.

The county agency shall determine the assistance standard for a family assistance unit as follows:

A.

The county agency shall assign standards from subpart 4 to each member of the filing unit as though each was a member of an MFIP assistance unit composed of the entire filing unit. If a member or members of a family are not to be included in the assistance unit, the county agency shall assign standards from subpart 4 to those members first and to the remaining members of the assistance unit last. Each adult in the filing unit except the first will receive a second adult standard. A minor parent family member shall be treated as provided in subitem (1) or (2).

(1)

A minor parent family member who resides with his or her parent will be assigned a child standard.

(2)

A minor parent family member who does not reside with his or her parent or parents shall be assigned an adult standard. If two adult standards have already been assigned to filing unit members, the minor parent will be assigned a second adult standard.

B.

The county agency shall add together the standards assigned to the members of the general assistance unit in item A. That total is the standard for the assistance unit. In no case shall the standard for family members who are in the assistance unit for general assistance, when combined with the standard for family members who are not in the assistance unit, total more than the standard for the entire family if all members were in an MFIP assistance unit.

Subp. 7.

Standard applies to full month.

Except when an increase must be made in the standard of assistance applicable to an assistance unit due to the addition of a member to the assistance unit or when a recipient enters the community from a negotiated rate facility, the standard of assistance applicable to an assistance unit the first day of a payment month or at the time of application, whichever is later, applies to the assistance unit for the entire month. When a decrease must be made in the standard of assistance for an assistance unit, the decrease shall be effective in the month following the month in which the change necessitating the reduction in the standard took place.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 256D.01; 256D.04; 256D.051; 256D.06; 256D.08; 256D.09; 256D.111

History:

15 SR 1842; L 2006 c 212 art 1 s 25

Published Electronically:

October 16, 2013