The application for approval of a training course and instructor must be made on a form prescribed by the commissioner.
The commissioner shall approve a course and instructor if they meet the following minimum standards:
The course must include instruction, demonstration, discussion, and, when applicable, an opportunity for student practice in the elements required by these standards.
The application must specify when and where the instructor has previously taught the course.
The name, address, employment, and relevant training of the instructor must be shown, and information showing that the instructor meets the standards under subpart 4.
The name and address of any institution that is sponsoring the course must be shown.
An application for certification of a continuing education course must include the following information:
the specific topic of instruction and its relevance to special transportation service;
a course plan that describes expected outcomes for the participant;
a written outline of the topics, the total length of instruction, and how much time will be spent on training for each topic during the course; and
written course materials.
Standards for instructors are as follows:
A first aid course must be taught by any person who is a licensed physician, registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, a paramedic, an emergency medical technician, a certified first aid instructor, or a physician assistant.
Passenger assistance training must be taught by a person who is a licensed physician; registered nurse; registered physical therapist; registered occupational therapist; public health nurse as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 145A.02, subdivision 18; or other person who has had work experience with physical disabilities, aging, and communication disorders, and their effect on transportation; or by a team that includes one of those persons.
Continuing education courses must be taught by a person who is knowledgeable in the specific topic of instruction for the course. The person's qualifications must be documented by specialized training in the subject matter, experience in teaching the subject matter, or experience in working in the subject areas.
The commissioner shall grant or deny, in writing, applications for approval of training courses and instructors within 30 days of receipt of the complete application.
Certification of a course or instructor expires three years from the date it is issued.
Applicants who are approved to teach under this part shall notify the commissioner of the starting date, location, and time of each course at least 72 hours before that starting date.
For each training course given under part 8840.5910, a certificate of course completion must be completed by the instructor or the sponsoring organization for each driver and attendant who successfully completed the training course.
An instructor, while certified, must notify the commissioner in writing of any change in the application information.
MS s 174.30
L 1987 c 309 s 24; 17 SR 634; 28 SR 1578; L 2014 c 291 art 4 s 58
July 3, 2014
Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes