Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subpart 1.


An energy supply emergency is a state of declared emergency resulting from a shortage of energy resources, including petroleum products, natural gas, or electricity.

Subp. 2.

Department of Commerce.

When the department's forecast shows that short-term demand for a fuel or fuels exceeds the forecast of short-term supply and that a supply shortage will occur within three months, the commissioner may recommend that an energy supply emergency be declared by submitting a written statement to the Executive Council or legislature. The statement shall include the factors the commissioner considered in reaching a decision to recommend that an emergency be declared and the reasons for the recommendation.

Subp. 3.

Executive Council or legislature.

The Executive Council (consisting of the governor, the lieutenant governor, the attorney general, the auditor, and the secretary of state) or the legislature has responsibility for declaring an energy supply emergency.

An energy supply emergency automatically expires in 30 days, unless renewed by the legislature. Each renewed energy supply emergency may not continue for longer than 30 days, unless otherwise provided by law. Minnesota Statutes, section 216C.15, subdivision 3.

Emergencies may be declared for all or part of the state and measures may be invoked accordingly. The declaration of emergency shall define the geographic area included in the energy supply emergency.

The declaration shall be promptly disseminated and brought to the attention of the general public by the Executive Council or legislature, whichever body declares the emergency. The energy supply emergency resolution shall be promptly filed with the division, the department, and the secretary of state.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 216C.15


L 1983 c 289 s 115 subd 1; L 1987 c 312 art 1 s 9,10; L 2001 1Sp4 art 6 s 1; L 2003 c 112 art 2 s 50

Published Electronically:

October 11, 2007