Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

7045.0474 MANIFEST SYSTEM.

Subpart 1.

Scope.

This part applies to owners and operators of both on-site and off-site facilities, except as part 7045.0450 provides otherwise. The provisions of subpart 2 do not apply to owners and operators of on-site facilities that do not receive any hazardous waste from off-site sources.

Subp. 2.

General manifest requirements.

A.

If a facility receives hazardous waste accompanied by a manifest, the owner or operator, or this person's agent, shall:

(1)

sign and date, by hand, each copy of the manifest to certify that the hazardous waste covered by the manifest was received, except as noted in the discrepancy space of the manifest, or rejected as noted in the manifest discrepancy space;

(2)

note any discrepancies in the manifest on each copy of the manifest. The owner or operator of a facility whose procedures under part 7045.0458, subpart 2, item G, include waste analysis need not perform that analysis before signing the manifest and giving it to the transporter. However, part 7045.0476 requires reporting any discrepancy discovered during later analysis;

(3)

immediately give the transporter at least one copy of the signed manifest;

(4)

within 30 days after the delivery, send a copy of the manifest to the generator; and

(5)

retain at the facility a copy of each manifest for at least three years from the date of delivery.

B.

If a facility receives hazardous waste imported from a foreign source, the receiving facility must mail a copy of the manifest to the following address within 30 days of delivery: International Compliance Assurance Division, OFA/OECA (2254A), United States Environmental Protection Agency, Ariel Rios Building, 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue N.W., Washington, DC 20460.

Subp. 3.

Rail and water shipment requirements.

If a facility receives hazardous waste from a rail or water bulk shipment transporter and the waste is accompanied by a shipping paper containing all the information required on the manifest, excluding the identification numbers, generator's certification, and signatures, the owner or operator, or this person's agent, shall do all of the following:

A.

Sign and date each copy of the manifest or shipping paper, if the manifest has not been received, to certify that the hazardous waste covered by the manifest or shipping paper was received.

B.

Note any discrepancies in the manifest, or in the shipping paper if the manifest has not been received, on each copy of the manifest or shipping paper. The owner or operator of a facility whose procedures under part 7045.0458, subpart 2, item G include waste analysis need not perform that analysis before signing the shipping paper and giving it to the transporter. However, part 7045.0476 requires reporting any discrepancy discovered during later analysis.

C.

Immediately give the rail or water bulk shipment transporter at least one copy of the signed manifest, or shipping paper if the manifest has not been received.

D.

Within 30 days after the delivery, send a copy of the signed and dated manifest, or a signed and dated copy of the shipping paper if the manifest has not been received within 30 days of delivery, to the generator. The generator is required under part 7045.0265 to send three copies of the manifest to the facility when hazardous waste is sent by rail or water bulk shipment.

E.

Retain at the facility a copy of the manifest and shipping paper, if signed in lieu of the manifest at the time of delivery, for at least three years from the date of delivery.

Subp. 4.

Tracking document.

Within three working days of the receipt of a shipment subject to part 7045.0322, the owner or operator of the facility must provide a copy of the tracking document bearing all required signatures to the notifier, to the Office of Enforcement and Compliance Assurance, Office of Federal Activities, International Compliance Assurance Division (2254A), Environmental Protection Agency, 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue N.W., Washington, DC 20460, and to competent authorities of all other concerned countries. The original copy of the tracking document must be maintained at the facility for at least three years from the date of signature.

Subp. 5.

State-only wastes.

The owner or operator of a facility must determine whether the consignment state for a shipment regulates any additional wastes, beyond those regulated federally, as hazardous wastes under its state hazardous waste program. The owner or operator of a facility must also determine whether the consignment state or generator state requires the facility to submit any copies of the manifest to these states.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 116.07

History:

9 SR 115; L 1987 c 186 s 15; 17 SR 1279; 31 SR 1277

Published Electronically:

October 10, 2013