Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subpart 1.

Party hunting.

Licensees may not hunt moose without having the unused seal in their possession. Licensed parties may not assist other licensed parties in taking moose.

Subp. 2.

Mixed-weapons parties.

Licensed moose hunt parties may consist of individuals hunting with bow and arrow and individuals hunting with firearms.

Subp. 3.

Blaze orange requirement.

The visible portion of the hunter's cap, if worn, and outer garments, above the waist excluding sleeves and gloves, must be blaze orange or be covered by blaze orange. Blaze orange includes a camouflage pattern of at least 50 percent blaze orange within each square foot. Persons whose sincerely held religious beliefs do not permit them to wear blaze orange may wear bright red as an alternative color in the same manner as blaze orange.

Subp. 4.


Moose must be registered, at a designated moose registration station in the area, within 48 hours after taking.

Subp. 5.

Dividing moose.

Moose may be skinned, quartered, or further divided prior to transportation and registration, but all edible meat, and all other parts of the moose not left in the field, must be presented at the same time.

Subp. 6.

Orientation required.

Persons licensed to take moose must attend an orientation session and have their licenses validated prior to hunting. Members of a party need not attend the same orientation session.

Subp. 7.


A moose may not be transported or possessed unless the seal bearing the license number of the party taking the moose and the year of its issue has been affixed to the carcass by attaching it between the tendon and the bone of a hind leg and fastened around either the bone or the tendon, around the base of either antler, or through a slit cut through either ear.

The seal must be fastened so that it cannot be readily removed.

Subp. 8.

License requirement.

A moose license is valid for a party of two, three, or four persons only for the zone selected.

Subp. 9.

Bag limit.

The bag limit of moose is one of any age or sex per licensed party of hunters. Only one moose may be taken by a party.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 97A.431; 97B.505; and others at 19 SR 6


18 SR 83; 19 SR 484; 19 SR 2222; 20 SR 2287

Published Electronically:

January 22, 2015

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes