Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subpart 1.

Required equipment.

Except for low dose-rate remote afterloader sources where the source output or activity is determined by the manufacturer, a licensee must have a calibrated dosimetry system available for use. To satisfy this requirement:


the system must have been calibrated by a calibration laboratory accredited by the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) or by using a source or system traceable to the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and published protocols accepted by nationally recognized bodies:


within the previous two years; and


after any servicing that may have affected system calibration; or


the system must have been calibrated within the previous four years. Eighteen to 30 months after that calibration:


the system must have been intercompared with another dosimetry system that was calibrated within the past 24 months by NIST or by a calibration laboratory accredited by the AAPM; and


the results of the intercomparison must have indicated that the calibration factor of the licensee's system had not changed by more than two percent. The licensee may not use the intercomparison result to change the calibration factor. When intercomparing dosimetry systems to be used for calibrating sealed sources for therapeutic units, the licensee must use a comparable unit with a beam attenuator or collimators, as applicable, and sources of the same radionuclide as the source used at the licensee's facility.

Subp. 2.

Spot check measurements.

A licensee must have a dosimetry system available for spot check output measurements, if applicable. To satisfy this requirement, the system may be compared with a system that has been calibrated according to subpart 1. The comparison must have been performed within the previous year and after each servicing that may have affected system calibration. The spot check system may be the same system used to meet the requirement under subpart 1.

Subp. 3.

Record retention.

A licensee must retain a record of each calibration, intercomparison, and comparison according to part 4731.4517.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 144.1202; 144.1203


29 SR 755

Published Electronically:

March 12, 2009

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes