Minnesota Legislature - Office of the Revisor of Statutes
MN Legislature

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

Authenticate

Pdf

Minnesota Administrative Rules

3525.2340 CASE LOADS.

Subpart 1.

[Repealed, 19 SR 2432]

Subp. 2.

[Repealed, 19 SR 2432]

Subp. 3.

[Repealed, 19 SR 2432]

Subp. 4.

Case loads for school-age educational service alternatives.

A.

The maximum number of school-age pupils that may be assigned to a teacher:

(1)

for pupils who receive direct special instruction from a teacher more than 60 percent of the instructional day, but less than a full school day:

(a)

deaf-blind, autism spectrum disorders, developmental cognitive disability: severe-profound range, or severely multiply impaired, three pupils;

(b)

deaf-blind, autism spectrum disorders, developmental cognitive disability: severe-profound range, or severely multiply impaired with one paraprofessional, six pupils;

(c)

developmental cognitive disability: mild-moderate range or specific learning disabled, 12 pupils;

(d)

developmental cognitive disability: mild-moderate range or specific learning disabled with one paraprofessional, 15 pupils;

(e)

all other disabilities with one paraprofessional, ten pupils;

(f)

all other disabilities with two paraprofessionals, 12 pupils; and

(g)

under special circumstances, for children who receive special education services for 60 percent or more of the instructional day, that are highly disruptive or create an unsafe environment due to the high behavioral or mental health needs of the students, districts have the option of lowering the number of such students in the classroom, so that both students and staff are safe; and

(2)

for pupils who receive direct special education for a full day:

(a)

deaf-blind, autism spectrum disorders, developmental cognitive disability: severe-profound range, or severely multiply impaired with one paraprofessional, four pupils;

(b)

deaf-blind, autism spectrum disorders, developmental cognitive disability: severe-profound range, or severely multiply impaired with two paraprofessionals, six pupils; and

(c)

all other disabilities with one paraprofessional, eight pupils.

B.

For pupils who receive direct special education 60 percent or less of the instructional day, the school district must establish a board-approved policy for determining workload limits for special education staff based on student contact minutes, evaluation and reevaluation time, indirect services, IEPs managed, travel time, and other services required in the IEPs of eligible students.

Subp. 5.

Case loads for early childhood program alternatives.

A teacher's case load must be adjusted downward based on pupils' severity of disability or delay, travel time necessary to serve pupils in more than one program alternative, and if the pupils on the teacher's case loads are receiving services in more than one program alternative or the pupils are involved with other agencies. The maximum number of pupils that can be assigned to a teacher in any early childhood program alternative is:

A.

birth through two years: 12 pupils per teacher;

B.

three through six years: 16 pupils per teacher; and

C.

birth through six years: 14 pupils per teacher.

District early childhood special education (ECSE) classes must have at least one paraprofessional employed while pupils are in attendance. The maximum number of pupils in an ECSE classroom at any one time with a teacher and a paraprofessional is eight. The maximum number of pupils in an ECSE classroom at any one time with an early childhood team is 16.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 14.389; 120.17; 121.11; L 1994 c 647 art 3 s 23; L 1999 c 213 s 19,20; L 2014 c 312 art 17 s 12

History:

8 SR 596; 16 SR 1543; 19 SR 2432; L 1998 c 397 art 11 s 3; 24 SR 1799; 26 SR 657; 39 SR 1168

Published Electronically:

February 10, 2015

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569