Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Requirements to initially obtain licensure as an accredited Minnesota assessor are given in items A to D.


A certified Minnesota assessor license or meeting the requirements for licensure as a certified Minnesota assessor, plus:


a passing grade in two board-approved income courses with a board-specified minimum number of hours of instruction; and


a passing grade on a board-approved course with a minimum of 15 hours of instruction on the assessment of a particular type of property, such as multiunit residential property, agricultural property, lakeshore property, or new construction.


A passing grade on one demonstration narrative appraisal, completed no more than five years prior to the date it is submitted for grading. In lieu of this narrative appraisal, the applicant may substitute:


obtaining the designation of SRA or MAI from the Appraisal Institute or its successor organization;


obtaining the designation of residential evaluation specialist (RES) or certified assessment evaluator (CAE) from the International Association of Assessing Officers;


obtaining the designation of assessment administrative specialist (AAS) or mass appraisal specialist (MAS) from the International Association of Assessing Officers;


a four-year degree with a major in real estate from an accredited college or university; or


submitting a residential form appraisal completed no more than five years prior to the date it is submitted for licensure under this part that has received a passing grade and successful completion of a board-approved residential case studies examination.


Three years of assessment experience.


Application to the board, and the appropriate fee.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 270.41; 270.47


13 SR 2751; 16 SR 135; 18 SR 1442; 21 SR 1245; 26 SR 1334; 29 SR 1450; 35 SR 2012; 43 SR 1145; 45 SR 91

Published Electronically:

August 14, 2020