Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language

                             CHAPTER 32-S.F.No. 453 
                  An act relating to auctioneers; modifying auctioneer 
                  license numbering requirements for county auditors; 
                  amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 330.01, 
                  subdivision 1; 330.08. 
           Section 1.  Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 330.01, 
        subdivision 1, is amended to read: 
           Subdivision 1.  [GENERALLY.] (a) The county auditor may 
        license any person having the qualifications specified in clause 
        (b) of this subdivision as an auctioneer.  The license shall be 
        issued by the auditor and shall authorize the licensee to 
        conduct the business of an auctioneer in the state of Minnesota 
        for the period of one year.  It shall be recorded by the auditor 
        in a book kept for that purpose.  The license must specify the 
        county issuing the license and must contain a number that 
        individually identifies the auctioneer holding the license.  
        Before the license is issued the applicant shall pay into the 
        county treasury a fee of $20.  
           (b) A natural person is qualified to be licensed as an 
        auctioneer if 18 years of age or over and a resident of the 
        county of application for at least six months immediately 
        preceding the date of application.  No copartnership, 
        association or corporation may be licensed as an auctioneer.  
        However, nothing in this subdivision shall be construed as 
        preventing auctioneers who are duly licensed in accordance with 
        the provisions of this chapter, from combining in associations, 
        copartnerships, or corporations, provided that each and every 
        member of these associations or copartnerships and each and 
        every person or agent conducting auction sales on behalf of 
        these corporations is a duly licensed auctioneer as provided in 
        this chapter.  Nothing herein shall be construed to apply to the 
        owner of property for at least six months selling it at an 
           Sec. 2.  Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 330.08, is 
        amended to read: 
           330.08 [ADVERTISEMENTS.] 
           All advertisements of auction sales shall carry the name or 
        names, address or addresses, and the license number or numbers 
        of the auctioneer or auctioneers conducting said sales.  The 
        license number must be assigned by the county auditor and must 
        be a seven-digit number, the first two digits of which must be 
        the county number, the next two digits of which must be the last 
        two digits of the calendar year in which the license was issued, 
        and the last three digits of which must start at 001 at the 
        beginning of each calendar year and indicate the order in which 
        the license was filed. 
           Sec. 3.  [EFFECTIVE DATE.] 
           Sections 1 and 2 are effective the day following final 
           Presented to the governor May 2, 2005 
           Signed by the governor May 5, 2005, 3:05 p.m.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes