Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language

                            CHAPTER 352-S.F.No. 3354 
                  An act relating to manufactured homes; clarifying the 
                  requirements for a limited dealer license; amending 
                  Minnesota Statutes 1998, section 327B.04, subdivision 
           Section 1.  Minnesota Statutes 1998, section 327B.04, 
        subdivision 8, is amended to read: 
           Subd. 8.  [LIMITED DEALER'S LICENSE.] The commissioner 
        shall issue a limited dealer's license to an owner of a 
        manufactured home park authorizing the licensee as principal 
        only to engage in the sale, offering for sale, soliciting, or 
        advertising the sale of used manufactured homes located in the 
        owned manufactured home park as principal only.  The licensee 
        must be the title holder of the homes and may engage in no more 
        than five ten sales annually.  An owner may, upon payment of the 
        applicable fee and compliance with this subdivision, obtain a 
        separate license for each owned manufactured home park and is 
        entitled to sell up to ten homes per license provided that only 
        one limited dealer license may be issued for each park.  The 
        license shall be issued only after: 
           (1) receipt of the an application described in section 
        327B.04, subdivision 3, on forms provided by the commissioner 
        containing the following information: 
           (i) the identity of the applicant; 
           (ii) the name under which the applicant will be licensed 
        and do business in this state; 
           (iii) the name and address of the owned manufactured home 
        park, including a copy of the park license, serving as the basis 
        for the issuance of the license; and 
           (iv) the name, home, and business address of the applicant; 
           (2) payment of the a $100 annual fee prescribed in section 
        327B.04, subdivision 7,; and compliance with the license 
        prerequisites contained in section 327B.04, subdivision 4; 
        except that an applicant need only secure 
           (3) provision of a surety bond in the amount of $5,000, and.
        A separate surety bond must be provided for each limited license.
           The applicant need not comply with section 327B.04, 
        subdivision 4, paragraph (e).  The holding of a limited dealer's 
        license does not satisfy the requirement contained in section 
        327B.04, subdivision 4, paragraph (e), for the licensee or 
        salespersons with respect to obtaining a dealer license.  The 
        commissioner may, upon application for a renewal of a license, 
        require only a verification that copies of sales documents have 
        been retained and payment of a $100 renewal fee.  "Sales 
        documents" mean only the safety feature disclosure form defined 
        in section 327C.07, subdivision 3a, title of the home, financing 
        agreements, and purchase agreements. 
           The commissioner shall adopt rules under sections 14.22 to 
        14.28 to provide for issuing a limited dealer's license. 
           The license holder shall, upon request of the commissioner, 
        make available for inspection during business hours sales 
        documents required to be retained under this subdivision.  
           Sec. 2.  [EFFECTIVE DATE.] 
           Section 1 is effective the day following final enactment.  
        The commissioner must have application forms available and begin 
        accepting license applications within 60 days of the effective 
           Presented to the governor April 6, 2000 
           Signed by the governor April 10, 2000, 2:47 p.m.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes