Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language


                         Laws of Minnesota 1991 

                        CHAPTER 204-H.F.No. 628 
           An act relating to traffic regulations; increasing the 
          fine for violating seat belt requirements; 
          reallocating fine receipts; amending Minnesota 
          Statutes 1990, section 169.686, subdivisions 1 and 3; 
          proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, 
          chapter 169. 
    Section 1.  Minnesota Statutes 1990, section 169.686, 
subdivision 1, is amended to read: 
    Subdivision 1.  [SEAT BELT REQUIREMENT.] A properly 
adjusted and fastened seat belt shall be worn by: 
    (1) the driver of a passenger vehicle; 
    (2) a passenger riding in the front seat of a passenger 
vehicle; and 
    (3) a passenger riding in any seat of a passenger vehicle 
who is older than three but younger than 11 years of age. 
    A person who is 15 years of age or older and who violates 
clause (1) or (2) is subject to a fine of $10 $25.  The driver 
of the passenger vehicle in which the violation occurred is 
subject to a $10 $25 fine for a violation of clause (2) or (3) 
by a child of the driver under the age of 15 or any child under 
the age of 11.  A peace officer may not issue a citation for a 
violation of this section unless the officer lawfully stopped or 
detained the driver of the motor vehicle for a moving violation 
other than a violation involving motor vehicle equipment.  The 
department of public safety shall not record a violation of this 
subdivision on a person's driving record. 
    Sec. 2.  Minnesota Statutes 1990, section 169.686, 
subdivision 3, is amended to read: 
    Subd. 3.  [APPROPRIATION; SPECIAL ACCOUNT.] The fines 
collected for a violation of subdivision 1 must be deposited in 
the state treasury and credited to a special account to be known 
as the emergency medical services relief account.  Ninety 
percent of the money in the account shall be distributed to the 
eight regional emergency medical services systems designated by 
the commissioner under section 144.8093, for personnel education 
and training, equipment and vehicle purchases, and operational 
expenses of emergency life support transportation services.  The 
board of directors of each emergency medical services region 
shall establish criteria for funding.  Ten percent of the money 
in the account shall be distributed to the commissioner of 
public safety for the expenses of traffic safety educational 
programs conducted by state patrol troopers. 
     Sec. 3.  [169.983] [SPEEDING VIOLATIONS; CREDIT CARD 
    The officer who issues a citation for a violation by a 
person who does not reside in Minnesota of section 169.14 or 
169.141 shall give the defendant the option to plead guilty to 
the violation upon issuance of the citation and to pay the fine 
to the issuing officer with a credit card. 
    The commissioner shall adopt rules to implement this 
section, including specifying the types of credit cards that may 
be used. 
    Sec. 4.  [EFFECTIVE DATE.] 
    Section 1 is effective for violations that occur on or 
after August 1, 1991. 
    Presented to the governor May 23, 1991 
    Signed by the governor May 27, 1991, 10:47 p.m.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes