Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language


                         Laws of Minnesota 1984 

                        CHAPTER 636-S.F.No. 433 
           An act relating to labor; regulating the minimum wage 
          by phasing out the tip credit; amending Minnesota 
          Statutes 1982, section 177.28, subdivision 4.  
    Section 1.  Minnesota Statutes 1982, section 177.28, 
subdivision 4, is amended to read: 
    Subd. 4.  An employee who receives $35 or more per month in 
gratuities is a tipped employee.  An employer is entitled to a 
credit in an amount up to 20 percent of the minimum wage which a 
tipped employee receives; except that effective January 1, 1985, 
the credit is reduced to 15 percent; effective January 1, 1986, 
the credit is reduced to 10 percent; effective January 1, 1987, 
the credit is reduced to 5 percent; and effective January 1, 
1988, the credit is eliminated.  The credit against the wages 
due may not be taken unless at the time the credit is taken the 
employer has received a signed statement for that pay period 
from the tipped employee stating that he did receive and retain 
during that pay period all gratuities received by him in an 
amount equal to or greater than the credit applied against the 
wages due by his employer.  The statements shall be maintained 
by the employer as a part of his business records. 
    Approved May 2, 1984

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes