Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Rule 522.Pleadings in District Court

The pleadings in conciliation court shall constitute the pleadings in district court. Any party may amend its statement of claim or counterclaim if, within 30 days after removal is perfected, the party seeking the amendment serves on the opposing party and files with the court a formal complaint conforming to the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure. If the opposing party fails to serve and file an answer within the time permitted by the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure, the allegations of the formal complaint are deemed denied. Amendment of the pleadings at any other time shall be allowed in accordance with the rules of civil procedure. On the motion of any party or on its own initiative, the court may order either or both parties to prepare, serve and file formal pleadings.

(Amended effective January 1, 2003.)

Advisory Committee Comment - 2002 Amendment

Rule 522 establishes a streamlined procedure for amendment of pleadings as a matter of right during the first 30 days after an action is removed to district court. The 2002 amendment adds a sentence before the last sentence to make it clear that the parties may move for leave to amend at other times, and the court can allow amendment on its own initiative. In these situations, the standards for amendment and supplementation of pleadings contained in Minn. R. Civ. P. 15 and the case law interpreting that rule should guide the court in deciding whether to allow amendment.