Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


A board of directors of the reinsurance association is created and is responsible for the operation of the reinsurance association consistent with the plan of operation and sections 79.34 to 79.40. The board consists of 13 directors. Four directors shall represent insurers, two directors shall represent employers, two shall represent self-insurers; two directors shall represent employees; the commissioner of management and budget and the executive director of the state Board of Investment or their designees shall serve as directors; and one director shall represent the public. Insurer members of the reinsurance association shall elect the directors who represent insurers; self-insurer members of the reinsurance association shall elect the directors who represent self-insurers; and the commissioner of labor and industry shall appoint the remaining directors for the terms authorized in the plan of operation. Each director is entitled to one vote. Terms of the directors shall be staggered so that the terms of all the directors do not expire at the same time and so that a director does not serve a term of more than four years. The board shall select a chair and other officers it deems appropriate.

A majority of the directors currently holding office constitutes a quorum. Action may be taken by a majority vote of the directors present.

The board shall take reasonable and prudent action regarding the management of the reinsurance association including but not limited to determining the entity who shall manage the daily affairs of the reinsurance association. The board shall report to the governor of its actions regarding the entity selected to manage the reinsurance association and the reasons for the selection.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes