Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

524.5-308 NOTICE.

(a) A copy of the petition and notice of the hearing on a petition for guardianship must be served personally on the respondent pursuant to section 524.5-304, paragraph (d). The notice must include a statement that the respondent must be physically present unless excused by the court; inform the respondent of the respondent's rights at the hearing; and include a description of the nature, purpose, and consequences of an appointment. A failure to serve the respondent with a notice substantially complying with this paragraph precludes the court from granting the petition.

(b) In a proceeding to establish a guardianship, notice of the hearing shall also be given to the persons listed in the petition. Failure to give notice under this paragraph does not preclude the appointment of a guardian or the making of a protective order.

(c) Notice of the hearing on a petition for an order after appointment of a guardian shall be given to interested persons pursuant to section 524.5-113 and to any other person as ordered by the court, except notice to the person subject to guardianship is not required if the person subject to guardianship has not attained 14 years of age and is not the petitioner.

(d) The guardian shall give notice of the filing of the guardian's report, together with a copy of the report, to the person subject to guardianship, the court, and any other person the court directs. The notice must be sent or delivered within 14 days after the filing of the report.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes