Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Authority; rules, orders, and directives.

The commissioner may promulgate rules, orders, and directives necessary to carry out the respective duties conferred on them by this chapter. The rules, orders, and directives may not be contrary to United States Code, title 49, sections 10101 to 11917. Every duly adopted rule, order, or directive of the commissioner shall have the full force and effect of law.

Subd. 2.Violations generally; penalty.

Unless a different penalty or punishment is specifically prescribed, any person, firm, or corporation who performs any unlawful act, or fails to perform any duty imposed by this chapter, or to obey any valid and final order, rule, or directive of the commissioner, or who assists and aids therein, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, if the violation be a continuing one, shall be guilty of a new offense for each day of such continuance, and for each offense shall be punished by a fine of one hundred dollars ($100).

Subd. 3.Discriminatory practices; penalty.

Any common carrier, willfully granting any special rate, rebate, drawback, or directly or indirectly charging, demanding or collecting a greater or less compensation than provided by its regular established schedule of rates and charges, shall be punished by a fine not exceeding $10,000 for each such offense.

Subd. 4.Failure to comply; penalty.

Any common carrier failing to comply with any order of the commissioner shall be subject to a penalty of fifty dollars ($50) for each and every day of such failure to comply, to be recovered for the state in a civil action by the commissioner.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes