Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Incentive payment.

Incentive payments may be made under this section only to an owner of grid-connected solar photovoltaic modules with a total nameplate capacity below 40 kilowatts direct current who:

(1) has submitted to the commissioner, on a form established by the commissioner, an application to receive the incentive that has been approved by the commissioner;

(2) has received a "Made in Minnesota" certificate under section 216C.413 for the module; and

(3) has installed on residential or commercial property solar photovoltaic modules that are generating electricity and has received a "Made in Minnesota" certificate under section 216C.413.

Subd. 2.Application process.

Applications for an incentive payment must be received by the commissioner between January 1 and February 28. The commissioner shall by a random method approve the number of applications the commissioner reasonably determines will exhaust the funds available for payment for the ten-year period of incentive payments. Applications for residential and commercial installations shall be separately randomly approved.

Subd. 3.Commissioner approval of incentive application.

The commissioner must approve an application for an incentive for an owner to be eligible for incentive payments. The commissioner must not approve an application in a calendar year if the commissioner determines there will not be sufficient funding available to pay an incentive to the applicant for any portion of the ten-year duration of payment. The commissioner shall annually establish a cap on the cumulative capacity for a program year based on funds available and historic average installation costs. Receipt of an incentive is not an entitlement and payment need only be made from available funds in the "Made in Minnesota" solar production incentive account.

Subd. 4.Eligibility window; payment duration.

(a) Payments may be made under this section only for electricity generated from new solar photovoltaic module installations that are commissioned between January 1, 2014, and December 31, 2023.

(b) The payment eligibility window of the incentive begins and runs consecutively from the date the solar system is commissioned.

(c) An owner of solar photovoltaic modules may receive payments under this section for a particular module for a period of ten years provided that sufficient funds are available in the account.

(d) No payment may be made under this section for electricity generated after December 31, 2033.

(e) An owner of solar photovoltaic modules may not first begin to receive payments under this section after December 31, 2024.

Subd. 5.Allocation of payments.

(a) If there are sufficient applications, approximately 50 percent of the incentive payment shall be for owners of eligible solar photovoltaic modules installed on residential property, and approximately 50 percent shall be for owners of eligible solar photovoltaic modules installed on commercial property.

(b) The commissioner shall endeavor to distribute incentives paid under this section to owners of solar photovoltaic modules installed in a manner so that the amount of payments received in an area of the state reasonably approximates the amount of payments made by a utility serving that area.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision:

(1) "residential property" means residential real estate that is occupied and used as a homestead by its owner or by a renter and includes "multifamily housing development" as defined in section 462C.02, subdivision 5, except that residential property on which solar photovoltaic modules (i) whose capacity exceeds 10 kilowatts is installed; or (ii) connected to a utility's distribution system and whose electricity is purchased by several residents, each of whom own a share of the electricity generated, shall be deemed commercial property; and

(2) "commercial property" means real property on which is located a business, government, or nonprofit establishment.

Subd. 6.Limitation.

An owner receiving an incentive payment under this section may not receive a rebate under section 116C.7791 for the same solar photovoltaic modules.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes