Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Seat belt requirement. (a) A properly adjusted and fastened seat belt,
including both the shoulder and lap belt when the vehicle is so equipped, shall be worn by:
(1) the driver of a passenger vehicle or commercial motor vehicle;
(2) a passenger riding in the front seat of a passenger vehicle or commercial motor vehicle;
(3) a passenger riding in any seat of a passenger vehicle who is older than three but younger
than 11 years of age.
(b) A person who is 15 years of age or older and who violates paragraph (a), clause (1) or
(2), is subject to a fine of $25. The driver of the passenger vehicle or commercial motor vehicle
in which the violation occurred is subject to a $25 fine for a violation of paragraph (a), clause
(2) or (3), by a child of the driver under the age of 15 or any child under the age of 11. A peace
officer may not issue a citation for a violation of this section unless the officer lawfully stopped or
detained the driver of the motor vehicle for a moving violation other than a violation involving
motor vehicle equipment. The Department of Public Safety shall not record a violation of this
subdivision on a person's driving record.
    Subd. 2. Seat belt exemptions. This section shall not apply to:
(1) a person driving a passenger vehicle in reverse;
(2) a person riding in a seat in which all the seating positions equipped with safety belts are
occupied by other persons;
(3) a person who is in possession of a written certificate from a licensed physician verifying
that because of medical unfitness or physical disability the person is unable to wear a seat belt;
(4) a person who is actually engaged in work that requires the person to alight from and
reenter a motor vehicle at frequent intervals and who, while engaged in that work, does not drive
or travel in that vehicle at a speed exceeding 25 miles per hour;
(5) a rural mail carrier of the United States Postal Service while in the performance of duties;
(6) a person driving or riding in a passenger vehicle manufactured before January 1, 1965;
(7) a person driving or riding in a pickup truck, as defined in section 168.011, subdivision 29,
while engaged in normal farming work or activity.
    Subd. 3. Appropriation; special account. The fines collected for a violation of subdivision
1 must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to a special account to be known as the
emergency medical services relief account. Ninety percent of the money in the account shall
be distributed to the eight regional emergency medical services systems designated by the
Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board under section 144E.50, for personnel education
and training, equipment and vehicle purchases, and operational expenses of emergency life
support transportation services. The board of directors of each emergency medical services region
shall establish criteria for funding. Ten percent of the money in the account shall be distributed
to the commissioner of public safety for the expenses of traffic safety educational programs
conducted by State Patrol troopers.
History: 1986 c 310 s 3; 1986 c 444; 1988 c 648 s 1,2; 1989 c 288 s 1; 1991 c 204 s 1,2;
1993 c 26 s 9; 1994 c 600 s 5; 1996 c 324 s 4; 1997 c 199 s 14; 2003 c 92 s 1

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes