Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Requirements for a provisional license. An applicant may be issued a
provisional license if the applicant:
    (1) was born in a foreign country;
    (2) communicates in English as a second language;
    (3) has taken the applicable examination administered by the Association of Social Work
Boards or similar examination body designated by the board;
    (4) has met the requirements of section 148D.055, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clauses
(1), (3), (4), (5), and (6); or subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clauses (1), (3), (4), (5), and (6); or
subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clauses (1), (2), (4), (5), (6), and (7); or subdivision 5, paragraph
(a), clauses (1), (2), (4), (5), (6), and (7); and
    (5) complies with the requirements of subdivisions 2 to 7.
    Subd. 2. License term. (a) A provisional license is valid until expiration, or until the board
issues or denies a license under section 148D.055, or until the board revokes the provisional
license, whichever occurs first.
    (b) A provisional license expires three years after the effective date of the license.
    Subd. 3. Scope of practice. A licensee who is issued a provisional license must comply
with the requirements of section 148D.050.
    Subd. 4. Fee. A licensee who is issued a provisional license must pay the appropriate license
fee specified in section 148D.180.
    Subd. 5. Supervised practice requirements. A licensee who is issued a provisional license
must document supervised practice as provided in section 148D.062. If a licensee issued a
provisional license is granted a license under section 148D.055, the licensee must also meet the
supervised practice requirements in sections 148D.100 to 148D.115. The supervised practice
completed under a provisional license does not apply to this requirement.
    Subd. 6. Evaluation by supervisor. (a) After being issued a provisional license under
subdivision 1, the licensee must submit an evaluation by the licensee's supervisor every six
months during the first 2,000 hours of social work practice. The evaluation must meet the
requirements in section 148D.063. The supervisor must meet the eligibility requirements specified
in section 148D.062.
    (b) After completion of 2,000 hours of supervised social work practice, the licensee's
supervisor must submit a final evaluation and attest to the applicant's ability to engage in the
practice of social work safely and competently.
    Subd. 7. Completion of requirements. Upon completion of the requirements for a
provisional license under subdivisions 1 to 6, an applicant shall not practice social work in
Minnesota except as provided in section 148D.065, unless licensed according to section 148D.055.
    Subd. 8. Disciplinary or other action. The board may take action according to sections
148D.260 to 148D.270 if:
    (1) the licensee's supervisor does not submit an evaluation as required by section 148D.062;
    (2) an evaluation submitted according to section 148D.062 indicates that the licensee cannot
practice social work competently and safely; or
    (3) the licensee does not comply with the requirements of subdivisions 1 to 7.
    Subd. 9. Revocation of provisional license. The board may immediately revoke the
provisional license of a licensee who violates any requirements of this section. The revocation
must be made for cause. A licensee whose provisional license is revoked must immediately return
the provisional license to the board.
History: 2007 c 123 s 58

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes