Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

The commissioner may make grants to state agencies and political subdivisions to construct
or rehabilitate facilities for early childhood programs, with priority to centers in counties or
municipalities with the highest percentage of children living in poverty. The commissioner may
also make grants to state agencies and political subdivisions to construct or rehabilitate facilities
for crisis nurseries or parenting time centers. The facilities must be owned by the state or a
political subdivision, but may be leased under section 16A.695 to organizations that operate the
programs. The commissioner must prescribe the terms and conditions of the leases. A grant for
an individual facility must not exceed $200,000 for each program that is housed in the facility,
up to a maximum of $500,000 for a facility that houses three programs or more. Programs
include Head Start, early childhood and family education programs, and other early childhood
intervention programs. The commissioner must give priority to grants that involve collaboration
among sponsors of programs under this section and may give priority to projects that collaborate
with child care providers, including all-day and school-age child care programs, special needs
care, sick child care, nontraditional hour care, and programs that include services to refugee and
immigrant families. The commissioner may give priority to grants for programs that will increase
their child care workers' wages as a result of the grant. If there is work that is appropriate for
youthbuild, as mutually agreed upon by the grantee and the local youthbuild program, considering
safety and skills needed, and if it is demonstrated by youthbuild that using youthbuild will
not increase the overall cost of the project, then priority must be given to grants for programs
that utilize youthbuild under sections 116L.361 to 116L.366 for at least 25 percent of each
grant awarded or $50,000, whichever is less, of the labor portion of the construction. Eligible
programs must consult with appropriate labor organizations to deliver education and training.
State appropriations must be matched on a 50 percent basis with nonstate funds. The matching
requirement must apply programwide and not to individual grants.
History: 1998 c 273 s 9; 1999 c 86 art 1 s 29; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 2; 2000 c 444 art 2 s 3;
2000 c 492 art 1 s 47; 2002 c 380 art 6 s 1; 2004 c 206 s 52

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes