Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Issuance. The commissioners of health and the Pollution Control Agency
shall issue certificates to water supply system operators and wastewater treatment facility
operators, respectively, who meet the requirements of the rules adopted under section 115.72.
Each certificate must indicate the classification of the system or facility which the operator is
qualified to operate.
    Subd. 2. Display. Certificates must be prominently displayed in the office of the operator or
other appropriate place on the premises of the plant or treatment facility.
    Subd. 3. Validity. Certificates are valid for a period of three years unless revoked or
suspended by the commissioner of health or the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency
prior to that time. Certificates may be renewed upon application to the appropriate commissioner.
    Subd. 4. Denial, refusal to renew, revocation, and suspension. The commissioner of health
and the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency may deny, refuse to renew, revoke, or
suspend the certification of a water supply system operator or a wastewater treatment facility
operator, respectively, in accordance with section 144.99, subdivisions 8 to 10.
    Subd. 5. Expiration. The certificates of operators who terminate their employment at a water
supply system or wastewater treatment facility will remain valid for the unexpired term of the
certificate. Operators whose certificates expire under this section may be issued new certificates of
a like classification provided appropriate proof of competency is submitted to the appropriate
commissioner. Successful completion of an examination may be required.
    Subd. 6. Records. The commissioner of health shall maintain records relating to certification
of water supply system operators, and the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency shall
maintain records relating to certification of wastewater treatment facility operators.
History: 1971 c 828 s 5; 1976 c 149 s 62 subd 6; 1977 c 305 s 45; 1986 c 444; 1987 c
186 s 15; 1995 c 180 s 10