Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Every person who has attained the full age of 18 years is capable in law of contracting
marriage, if otherwise competent. A person of the full age of 16 years may, with the consent of
the person's parents, guardian, or the court, as provided in section 517.08, receive a license to
marry, when, after a careful inquiry into the facts and the surrounding circumstances, the person's
application for a license is approved by the judge of the juvenile court of the county in which
the person resides. If the judge of juvenile court of the county in which the person resides is
absent from the county and has not by order assigned another judge or a retired judge to act in
the judge's stead, then the court commissioner or any judge of district court of the county may
approve the application for a license.
History: (8563) RL s 3553; 1927 c 166; 1949 c 374 s 1; 1963 c 795 s 1; 1967 c 506 s 1;
1973 c 725 s 72; 1981 c 58 s 1; 1995 c 189 s 8; 1996 c 277 s 1

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes