Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Requirements. Except as provided in subdivisions 2 to 3, no person may
transport or offer or accept for transportation within the state of Minnesota a hazardous material,
hazardous substance, or hazardous waste except in compliance with United States Code, title 49,
sections 5101 to 5126 and the provisions of Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, parts 171 to
199. Those provisions apply to transportation in intrastate commerce to the same extent they
apply to transportation in interstate commerce.
    Subd. 2. Exemption for farmer. (a) This subdivision applies to persons engaged in
intrastate commerce.
(b) Farmers or their employees transporting diesel fuel, gasoline, agricultural chemicals, or
agricultural fertilizers for use on the transporter's farm are not required to comply with the rules
adopted in section 221.0314, subdivisions 2 to 5, for driver qualifications or with the shipping
paper requirements of the Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, sections 172.200 and 177.817 or
with section 397.7(B) or 397.9(A) of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations when:
(1) transporting diesel fuel or gasoline in motorized tank truck vehicles of less than
1,500-gallon capacity owned by the transporter, or in tanks securely mounted in other motor
vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of less than 10,000 pounds and owned by the transporter; or
(2) transporting agricultural chemicals and agricultural fertilizers.
    Subd. 2a. Agriculturally related exemption. (a) This subdivision applies to persons
engaged in intrastate commerce.
(b) Fertilizer and agricultural chemical retailers or their employees are exempt from the rule
in section 221.0314, subdivision 4, requiring that drivers must be at least 21 years of age when:
(1) the retailer or its employee is transporting fertilizer or agricultural chemicals directly to a
farm for on-farm use within a radius of 50 miles of the retailer's business location; and
(2) the driver employed by the retailer is at least 18 years of age.
    Subd. 2b. Cargo tank. (a) The requirements in Code of Federal Regulations, title 49,
sections 180.405, paragraphs (b), (c), (g), (h), and (j) and 180.407, paragraphs (c), (d), clause (1),
(e), (f), (g), (h), and (i) do not apply to cargo tanks of up to 3,500 gallons capacity that transport
gasoline in intrastate commerce if before providing transportation under this subdivision:
(1) the owner or operator of the cargo tank provides the commissioner with evidence that the
cargo tank was manufactured according to the cargo tank specification regulations in Code of
Federal Regulations, title 49, sections 178.340 to 178.341-7, as amended through November 1,
(2) a copy of the evidence described in clause (1) is kept in the vehicle to which the cargo
tank is attached; and
(3) the manufacturer's metal certification plate is removed from the cargo tank or covered.
(b) A cargo tank operated under this subdivision must:
(1) be visually inspected annually by a person authorized to perform such inspections under
Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, section 180.409, and a copy of the annual inspection must
be kept in the vehicle; and
(2) be visually inspected monthly by the operator in a manner prescribed by the
commissioner, and a copy of each monthly inspection must be kept at the operator's principal
place of business for at least one year beyond the date of the inspection.
(c) No person may operate a cargo tank described in this subdivision that (1) violates
paragraph (a) or (b), or (2) leaks gasoline from any portion of the tank that regularly contains
(d) The commissioner shall keep a record of persons who provide the evidence described in
this subdivision.
    Subd. 2c. Age of petroleum tank truck driver. A driver of a motorized tank truck vehicle
having a capacity of less than 3,500 gallons, who is engaged in the intrastate transportation of
petroleum products, must be at least 18 years of age.
    Subd. 2d. Age of driver under federal materials-of-trade regulation. A driver of a
self-propelled or towed motor vehicle transporting no hazardous material other than materials of
trade, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, section 171.8, must be at least 18 years
of age. This subdivision does not apply unless the transportation conforms to the requirements of
Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, section 173.6.
    Subd. 3. [Repealed, 2004 c 225 s 15]
    Subd. 4.MS 1992 [Repealed, 1994 c 589 s 8]
    Subd. 4.MS 1996 [Repealed, 1998 c 310 s 8]
History: 1983 c 371 s 22; 1985 c 248 s 70; 1985 c 299 s 20; 1986 c 398 art 24 s 1; 1986 c
454 s 27; 1990 c 588 s 2; 1991 c 298 art 4 s 10; 1991 c 333 s 34; 1992 c 578 s 29-32; 1993 c
117 s 22,23; 1994 c 589 s 3,4; 1996 c 387 s 4; 1996 c 456 s 23; 1999 c 230 s 26; 2004 c 225
s 6; 2006 c 234 s 3

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes