Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

(a) When any employer employing labor within this state discharges an employee, the wages
or commissions actually earned and unpaid at the time of the discharge are immediately due and
payable upon demand of the employee. If the employee's earned wages and commissions are not
paid within 24 hours after demand, whether the employment was by the day, hour, week, month,
or piece or by commissions, the employer is in default. The discharged employee may charge and
collect the amount of the employee's average daily earnings at the rate agreed upon in the contract
of employment, for each day up to 15 days, that the employer is in default, until full payment
or other settlement, satisfactory to the discharged employee, is made. In the case of a public
employer where approval of expenditures by a governing board is required, the 24-hour period for
payment does not commence until the date of the first regular or special meeting of the governing
board following discharge of the employee.
(b) The wages and commissions must be paid at the usual place of payment unless the
employee requests that the wages and commissions be sent through the mails. If, in accordance
with a request by the employee, the employee's wages and commissions are sent to the employee
through the mail, the wages and commissions are paid as of the date of their postmark.
History: (4127) 1919 c 175 s 1; 1933 c 173 s 1; 1984 c 446 s 1; 1Sp1985 c 16 art 1 s 2;
1986 c 444; 1997 c 83 s 5

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes