Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

349.165 Premises permits.

Subdivision 1. Premises permit required; application. A licensed organization may not conduct lawful gambling at any site unless it has first obtained from the board a premises permit for the site. The board shall prescribe a form for permit applications, and each application for a permit must be submitted on a separate form. The premises permit issued by the board runs concurrently with the license of the organization unless the premises permit is suspended, revoked, or voluntarily terminated by the organization. The board may by rule limit the number of premises permits that may be issued to an organization.

Subd. 2. Contents of application. An application for a premises permit must contain:

(1) the name and address of the applying organization;

(2) a description of the site for which the permit is sought, including its address and, where applicable, its placement within another premises or establishment;

(3) if the site is leased, the name and address of the lessor and information about the lease the board requires, including all rents and other charges for the use of the site; and

(4) other information the board deems necessary to carry out its purposes.

An organization holding a premises permit must notify the board in writing within ten days whenever any material change is made in the above information.

Subd. 3. Fees. (a) The board may issue four classes of premises permits corresponding to the classes of licenses authorized under section 349.16, subdivision 6. The fee for each class of permit is:

(1) $400 for a class A permit;

(2) $250 for a class B permit;

(3) $200 for a class C permit; and

(4) $150 for a class D permit.

(b) If a premises permit is issued during the second year of an organization's license, the fee for each class of permit is:

(1) $200 for a class A permit;

(2) $125 for a class B permit;

(3) $100 for a class C permit; and

(4) $75 for a class D permit.

Subd. 4. Identification of premises. No organization may seek or accept assistance from a manufacturer or distributor, or a representative, agent, affiliate, or employee of a manufacturer or distributor, in identifying potential locations for gambling conducted by the organization.

HIST: 1990 c 590 art 1 s 23; 1991 c 336 art 2 s 19,20; 1Sp2001 c 10 art 2 s 75,76; 2002 c 386 art 1 s 5

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes