A residential treatment program that serves persons under 18 years of age must be licensed as a residential program for children in out-of-home placement by the department unless the license holder is exempt under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.03, subdivision 2.
In addition to the requirements specified in part 9530.6450, subparts 1 and 5, an alcohol and drug counselor providing treatment services to adolescents must have:
an additional 30 hours of classroom instruction or one three-credit semester college course in adolescent development. This training need only be completed one time; and
at least 150 hours of supervised experience as an adolescent counselor, either as a student or as a staff member.
At least 25 percent of a counselor's scheduled work hours must be allocated to indirect services, including documentation of client services, coordination of services with others, treatment team meetings, and other duties. A counseling group consisting entirely of adolescents must not exceed 16 clients. It is the responsibility of the license holder to determine an acceptable group size based on the needs of the clients.
Clients who are required to attend school must be enrolled and attending an educational program that has been approved by the Minnesota Department of Education.
In addition to the requirements specified in the client's treatment plan under part 9530.6425, programs serving adolescents must include the following:
coordination with the school system to address the client's academic needs;
when appropriate, a plan that addresses the client's leisure activities without chemical use; and
a plan that addresses family involvement in the adolescent's treatment.
MS s 245A.09
29 SR 129
October 15, 2013