Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language

                            CHAPTER 114-S.F.No. 230 
                  An act relating to landlords and tenants; modifying 
                  the time period for serving a summons and scheduling a 
                  hearing for a housing violation; amending Minnesota 
                  Statutes 2002, section 504B.401. 
           Section 1.  Minnesota Statutes 2002, section 504B.401, is 
        amended to read: 
           504B.401 [SUMMONS.] 
           Subdivision 1.  [CONTENTS.] (a) On receipt of the complaint 
        in section 504B.395, the court administrator shall prepare a 
        summons.  The summons shall: 
           (1) specify the time and place of the hearing to be held on 
        the complaint; and 
           (2) state that if at the time of the hearing a defense is 
        not interposed and established by the landlord, judgment may be 
        entered for the relief requested and authorized by sections 
        504B.381 and 504B.395 to 504B.471. 
           (b) The hearing must be scheduled not less than five seven 
        nor more than ten 14 days after receipt of the complaint by the 
        court administrator. 
           Subd. 2.  [SERVICE.] The summons and complaint must be 
        served upon the landlord or the landlord's agent not less than 
        five seven nor more than ten 14 days before the hearing.  
        Service shall be by personal service upon the defendant pursuant 
        to the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure.  If personal service 
        cannot be made with due diligence, service may be made by 
        affixing a copy of the summons and complaint prominently to the 
        residential building involved, and mailing at the same time a 
        copy of the summons and complaint by certified mail to the last 
        known address of the landlord. 
           Presented to the governor May 23, 2003 
           Signed by the governor May 25, 2003, 10:40 p.m.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota Revisor of Statutes