Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language

                            CHAPTER 275-H.F.No. 2873 
                  An act relating to local government; clarifying the 
                  time requirements for processing instruments presented 
                  to certain county offices; clarifying the effect of 
                  certain requirements on an appointed department head 
                  in Anoka county; amending Minnesota Statutes 1998, 
                  sections 386.30; and 507.093; Laws 1989, chapter 243, 
                  section 2. 
           Section 1.  Minnesota Statutes 1998, section 386.30, is 
        amended to read: 
           386.30 [DEEDS RECORDED WITHIN 30 DAYS.] 
           Each county recorder shall, within 30 days after any 
        instrument entitled to record is left for that purpose, actually 
        record the same in the manner provided by law and return the 
        same in person or by mail to the person who left such instrument 
        for record, if the person's residence is known, or to such other 
        person and at such address as the recorder may be directed to 
        deliver the same.  Persistent failure to so record and return 
        instruments entitled to record, upon demand therefor and payment 
        of recording fees, shall constitute nonfeasance in office and be 
        sufficient ground for removal therefrom.  In a county in which 
        the office of county recorder has been combined with another 
        county office, the 30-day time period begins when the tax 
        certifications required by chapters 272 and 287 are made, but 
        the total period to complete the time period after receipt of 
        the instrument by the office must not exceed 60 days.  
           Sec. 2.  Minnesota Statutes 1998, section 507.093, is 
        amended to read: 
           (a) The following standards are imposed on documents to be 
        recorded with the county recorder or filed with the registrar of 
           (1) The document shall consist of one or more individual 
        sheets measuring no larger than 8.5 inches by 14 inches. 
           (2) The form of the document shall be printed, typewritten, 
        or computer generated in black ink and the form of the document 
        shall not be smaller than 8-point type.  
           (3) The document shall be on white paper of not less than 
        20-pound weight with no background color, images, or writing and 
        shall have a clear border of approximately one-half inch on the 
        top, bottom, and each side.  
           (4) The first page of the document shall contain a blank 
        space at the top measuring three inches, as measured from the 
        top of the page.  The right half to be used by the county 
        recorder for recording information or registrar of titles for 
        filing information and the left half to be used by the county 
        auditor or treasurer for certification.  
           (5) The title of the document shall be prominently 
        displayed at the top of the first page below the blank space 
        referred to in clause (4).  
           (6) No additional sheet shall be attached or affixed to a 
        page that covers up any information or printed part of the form. 
           (7) A document presented for recording or filing must be 
        sufficiently legible to reproduce a readable copy using the 
        county recorder's or registrar of title's current method of 
           (b) The recording or filing fee for a document that does 
        not conform to the standards in paragraph (a) shall be increased 
        as provided in sections 357.18, subdivision 5; 508.82; and 
           (c) The recorder or registrar shall refund the recording or 
        filing fee to the applicant if the real estate documents are not 
        filed or registered within 30 days after receipt, or as 
        otherwise provided by section 386.30. 
           Sec. 3.  Laws 1989, chapter 243, section 2, is amended to 
           (a) Upon adoption of a resolution by the Anoka county board 
        of commissioners and subject to sections 3 and 4, the duties of 
        the elected officials required by statute whose offices are made 
        appointive by this act shall be discharged by the board of 
        commissioners of Anoka county acting through a department head 
        or heads appointed by the board for that purpose.  Each 
        appointed department head shall serve at the pleasure of the 
        board.  The board may reorganize, consolidate, reallocate, or 
        delegate the duties to promote efficiency in county government.  
        It may make other administrative changes, including abolishing 
        the offices of auditor, recorder, and treasurer.  A 
        reorganization, reallocation, or delegation or other 
        administrative change or transfer shall not diminish, prohibit, 
        or avoid the discharge of duties required by statute. 
           (b) The time requirements in Minnesota Statutes, sections 
        386.30 and 507.093, apply to an appointed department head 
        described in paragraph (a) and begin after the tax 
        certifications required by Minnesota Statutes, chapters 272 and 
        287, are made, but the total period to complete the time 
        requirements after receipt of the instrument by the appointed 
        department head must not exceed 60 days. 
           Section 3 is effective the day after the governing body of 
        Anoka county and its chief clerical officer timely complete 
        compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 645.021, 
        subdivisions 2 and 3. 
           Presented to the governor March 20, 2000 
           Signed by the governor March 23, 2000, 10:45 a.m.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes