Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language

    Laws of Minnesota 1993 

                        CHAPTER 219-S.F.No. 229 
           An act relating to watercraft; mirror requirements for 
          watercraft towing persons on various devices; amending 
          Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 86B.313, subdivision 
    Section 1.  Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 86B.313, 
subdivision 1, is amended to read: 
    Subdivision 1.  [GENERAL REQUIREMENTS.] In addition to 
requirements of other laws relating to watercraft, it is 
unlawful to operate or to permit the operation of a personal 
    (1) without each person on board the personal watercraft 
wearing a United States Coast Guard approved Type I, II, III, or 
V personal flotation device; 
    (2) between sunset and 8:00 a.m.; 
    (3) within 100 feet of a shoreline, dock, swimmer, or 
swimming diving raft or a moored, anchored, or nonmotorized 
watercraft at greater than slow-no wake speed; 
    (4) while towing a person on water skis, a kneeboard, an 
inflatable craft, or any other device unless: 
    (i) an observer is on board; or 
    (ii) the personal watercraft is equipped with 
factory-installed or factory specified replacement 
factory-specified accessory mirrors that are integrated into the 
body design of the watercraft and give the operator a wide field 
of vision to the rear; 
     (5) without the lanyard-type engine cutoff switch being 
attached to the person, clothing, or personal flotation device 
of the operator, if the personal watercraft is equipped by the 
manufacturer with such a device; 
     (6) if any part of the spring-loaded throttle mechanism has 
been removed, altered, or tampered with so as to interfere with 
the return-to-idle system; 
     (7) to chase or harass wildlife; 
     (8) through emergent or floating vegetation at other than a 
slow-no wake speed; 
     (9) in a manner that unreasonably or unnecessarily 
endangers life, limb, or property, including weaving through 
congested watercraft traffic, jumping the wake of another 
watercraft within 100 feet of the other watercraft; or 
     (10) in any other manner that is not reasonable and prudent.
    Presented to the governor May 14, 1993 
    Signed by the governor May 17, 1993, 11:04 a.m.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes