Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language


                         Laws of Minnesota 1990 

                        CHAPTER 417-H.F.No. 2374 
           An act relating to agriculture; changing the makeup of 
          potato research and promotion councils; amending 
          Minnesota Statutes 1988, section 17.54, subdivision 9. 
    Section 1.  Minnesota Statutes 1988, section 17.54, 
subdivision 9, is amended to read: 
    Subd. 9.  [POTATO INDUSTRY PROMOTION.] For the purpose of 
the administration of sections 17.51 to 17.69 as they pertain to 
a Minnesota area potato research and promotion council 
established pursuant to Laws 1967, chapter 417, as amended, the 
state is divided into four two areas.  Area number one includes 
the counties of Kittson, Marshall, Polk, Pennington, Red Lake, 
Norman, Mahnomen, Clay, Wilkin, Roseau, Lake of the Woods, 
Beltrami, Clearwater, Hubbard, and Becker, and Ottertail.  Area 
number two includes the rest of the counties of Itasca, 
Koochiching, St. Louis, Carlton, Lake, and Cook.  Area number 
three includes the counties of Traverse, Grant, Douglas, Big 
Stone, Stevens, Pope, Swift, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Chippewa, 
Yellow Medicine, Renville, McLeod, Carver, Scott, Dakota, 
Lincoln, Lyon, Redwood, Sibley, Le Sueur, Rice, Goodhue, 
Nicollet, Wabasha, Pipestone, Murray, Brown, Waseca, Steele, 
Dodge, Olmsted, Winona, Cottonwood, Watonwan, Blue Earth, Rock, 
Nobles, Jackson, Martin, Faribault, Freeborn, Mower, Fillmore, 
and Houston.  Area number four includes the counties of Wadena, 
Cass, Aitkin, Crow Wing, Pine, Todd, Morrison, Mille Lacs, 
Kanabec, Stearns, Benton, Isanti, Chisago, Sherburne, Anoka, 
Meeker, Wright, Washington, Hennepin, and Ramsey the state.  
Sections 17.51 to 17.69 shall apply to any of the above areas of 
the state where the commissioner has determined that the area 
was organized prior to July 1, 1982, pursuant to section 30.464, 
subdivision 3, as amended through June 30, 1982. 
    Sec. 2.  [EFFECTIVE DATE.] 
    Section 1 relating to the removal of Hubbard and Ottertail 
counties from area one is effective July 1, 1991. 
    Presented to the governor April 5, 1990 
    Signed by the governor April 6, 1990, 6:47 p.m.