Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language


                         Laws of Minnesota 1987 

                        CHAPTER 319-S.F.No. 131 
           An act relating to transportation; authorizing 
          commissioner of transportation and local road 
          authorities to reduce speed limits in work zones; 
          amending Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 169.14, by 
          adding a subdivision. 
    Section 1.  Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 169.14, is 
amended by adding a subdivision to read: 
    Subd. 5d.  [SPEED ZONING IN WORK ZONES.] The commissioner, 
on trunk highways and temporary trunk highways, and local 
authorities, on streets and highways under their jurisdiction, 
may authorize the use of reduced maximum speed limits in highway 
work zones.  The commissioner or local authority is not required 
to conduct an engineering and traffic investigation before 
authorizing a reduced speed limit in a highway work zone. 
    The minimum highway work zone speed limit is 20 miles per 
hour.  The work zone speed limit must not reduce the established 
speed limit on the affected street or highway by more than 15 
miles per hour, except that the highway work zone speed limit 
shall not exceed 40 miles per hour.  Highway work zone speed 
limits are effective on erection of appropriate regulatory speed 
limit signs designating the beginning and end of the affected 
work zone.  The signs must be removed or covered when they are 
not required.  A speed greater than the posted highway work zone 
speed limit is unlawful.  
    For purposes of this subdivision, "highway work zone" means 
a segment of highway or street where a road authority or its 
agent is constructing, reconstructing, or maintaining the 
physical structure of the roadway, its shoulders, or features 
adjacent to the roadway, including underground and overhead 
utilities and highway appurtenances. 
    Approved May 29, 1987

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes