No person shall engage in the business of procuring bail bonds, either cash or surety, for persons under detention until an application is approved by the State Court Administrator's Office. Approval shall permit the applicant to issue bail bonds throughout the State of Minnesota. Nothing in this section shall infringe upon a judge's discretion in approving a bond. The application form shall be obtained from the State Court Administrator's Office. The completed application shall then be filed with the State Court Administrator's Office stating the information requested and shall be accompanied by verification that the applicant is licensed as an insurance agent by the Minnesota Department of Commerce. The approval granted under this rule may be revoked or suspended by the State Court Administrator's Office and such revocation or suspension shall apply throughout the State of Minnesota. Approved applicants are required to apply for a renewal of approval within a time period (not less than one year) established by the State Court Administrator's Office.
Any corporate surety on a bond submitted to the judge shall be one approved by the State Court Administrator's Office and authorized to do business in the State of Minnesota.
Whenever a corporate surety becomes insolvent, the local agent shall notify the State Court Administrator's Office and the court in every county in which it has issued or applied to issue bonds, in writing immediately. Within 14 days after such notice to the court, the agent shall file with the trial court administrator a security bond to cover outstanding obligations of insolvent surety, which may be reduced automatically as the obligations are reduced. In the absence of such surety or security bond, a summons shall be sent to all principals on the bonds of the surety.
Before any person is released on bond, the bond must be approved by a judge after submission to the prosecuting lawyer for approval of form and execution and filed with the court administrator during business hours or thereafter with the custodian of the jail. In cases where bail has been set by the court and the defendant has provided a bail bond with corporate surety, approval by a judge is unnecessary if the bond conforms to Form 702 as published by the state court administrator.
Whenever a bail bond is forfeited by a judge, the surety and bondsman shall be notified by the court administrator in writing, and be directed to make payment in accordance with the terms of the bond within 90 days from the date of the order of forfeiture. A copy of the order of forfeiture shall be forwarded with the notice.
Any motion for reinstatement of a forfeited bond or cash bail shall be supported by a petition and affidavit and shall be filed with the court administrator. A copy of said petition and affidavit shall be served upon the prosecuting attorney and the principal of the bond in the manner required by Minn. R. Civ. P. 4.03(e)(1). A petition for reinstatement filed within 90 days of the date of the order of forfeiture shall be heard and determined by the judge who ordered the forfeiture, or the chief judge. Reinstatement may be ordered on such terms and conditions as the court may require. A petition for reinstatement filed between 90 and 180 days from date of forfeiture shall be heard and determined by the judge who ordered forfeiture or the judge's successor and reinstatement may be ordered on such terms and conditions as the court may require, but only with the concurrence of the chief judge and upon the condition that a minimum penalty of not less than ten percent (10%) of the forfeited bail be imposed. No reinstatement of a forfeited bond or cash bail shall be allowed unless the petition and affidavit are filed within 180 days from the date of the order of forfeiture.
All forfeited bail money shall be deposited in the state treasury in the manner provided by law.
A failure to make payment on a forfeited bail within 90 days as above provided shall automatically suspend the surety and its agent from writing further bonds. Such suspension shall apply throughout the State of Minnesota and shall continue for a period of 30 days from the date the principal amount of the bond is deposited in cash with the court administrator.
(Amended effective January 1, 1994; amended effective January 1, 1996; amended effective January 1, 1998; amended effective February 1, 2005; amended effective March 1, 2009; amended effective January 1, 2020.)