Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Definitions.

(a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.

(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of agriculture or the commissioner's designee.

(c) "Restricted species" means Eurasian wild pigs and their hybrids (Sus scrofa subspecies and Sus scrofa hybrids), excluding domestic hogs (S. scrofa domesticus).

(d) "Release" means an intentional introduction or accidental escape of a species from the control of the owner or responsible party.

Subd. 2.Importation; possession; release of restricted species.

It is unlawful for a person to import, possess, propagate, transport, or release restricted species, unless the person has a permit as described in subdivision 3.

Subd. 3.Permits.

The commissioner may issue permits for the transportation, possession, purchase, or importation of restricted species for scientific, research, educational, or commercial purposes. A permit issued under this subdivision may be revoked by the commissioner if the conditions of the permit are not met by the permittee or for any unlawful act or omission, including accidental escapes.

Subd. 4.Notice of release of restricted species.

In the event of a release of a restricted species, the owner must notify within 24 hours a conservation officer and the Board of Animal Health and is responsible for the recovery of the species. The commissioner may capture or destroy the released animal at the owner's expense.

Subd. 5.Enforcement.

This section may be enforced by an enforcement officer under sections 97A.205 and 97A.211 and by the commissioner under sections 17.982 to 17.984.

Subd. 6.Penalty.

A person who violates subdivision 2, 4, or 7 is guilty of a misdemeanor.

Subd. 7. Identification requirements.

A restricted species in the possession of a person must be marked in a permanent fashion to identify ownership. The restricted species must be marked as soon as practicable after birth or purchase.

Subd. 8.Containment.

The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of natural resources, shall develop criteria for approved containment measures for restricted species.

Subd. 9.Bond; security.

A person who possesses restricted species must provide proof of insurance or file a security bond with the commissioner in an amount determined by the commissioner to pay for the potential costs and damages that would be caused by the release of a restricted species.

Subd. 10.Fee.

The commissioner may impose a fee for permits in an amount sufficient to cover the costs of issuing the permits and for facility inspections. The fee may not exceed $50. Fee receipts must be deposited in the general fund.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes