Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Definitions.

As used in this section:

(1) "rental or lease agreement" means a written agreement to rent or lease a motor vehicle that contains the name, address, and driver's license number of the renter or lessee; and

(2) "person" has the meaning given the term in section 645.44, subdivision 7.

Subd. 2.Requirement.

Every person who rents or leases a motor vehicle in this state for a time period of less than 180 days shall have the rental or lease agreement covering the vehicle in possession at all times when operating the vehicle and shall produce it upon the demand of a peace officer. If the person is unable to produce the rental or lease agreement upon the demand of a peace officer, the person shall, within 14 days after the demand, produce the rental or lease agreement to the place stated in the notice provided by the peace officer. The rental or lease agreement may be mailed by the person as long as it is received within 14 days.

Subd. 3.Penalty.

A person who fails to produce a rental or lease agreement as required by this section is guilty of a misdemeanor. The peace officer may mail the citation to the address given by the person or to the address stated on the driver's license, and this service by mail is valid notwithstanding section 629.34. It is not a defense that the person failed to notify the Department of Public Safety of a change of name or address as required under section 171.11. The citation may be sent after the 14-day period.

Subd. 4.False or fictitious rental or lease agreement.

It is a misdemeanor for any person to alter or make a fictitious rental or lease agreement, or to display an altered or fictitious rental or lease agreement knowing or having reason to know the agreement is altered or fictitious.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes