Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Criteria for STEMI receiving center designation.

A hospital meets the criteria for a STEMI receiving center designation if the hospital has been accredited as a STEMI receiving center by the Society of Cardiovascular Patient Care, the Joint Commission, the American Heart Association, or another nationally recognized accreditation entity that provides STEMI receiving center accreditation for the care of ST segment elevation myocardial infarction. A hospital may apply to the Department of Health for designation as a STEMI receiving center by providing relevant and current documentation of STEMI receiving center accreditation by a nationally recognized accreditation entity.

Subd. 2.Designation of STEMI receiving centers.

If a hospital voluntarily meeting the criteria for designation as a STEMI receiving center applies to the commissioner for STEMI receiving center designation, then, upon the commissioner's review and approval of its application, the commissioner shall designate the hospital as a STEMI receiving center for a three-year period. If a hospital loses its accreditation as a STEMI receiving center from a nationally recognized accreditation entity, the commissioner shall immediately withdraw the hospital's STEMI designation.

Subd. 3.Coordination among hospitals.

STEMI receiving centers are encouraged to coordinate, through agreement, with STEMI referring hospitals throughout the state to provide appropriate access to care for ST segment elevation myocardial infarction patients.


2016 c 88 s 1