Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Within 180 days after issuance of the administrative law judge's report or that of the chief administrative law judge, the agency shall submit its notice of adoption, amendment, or repeal to the State Register for publication. If the agency has not submitted its notice to the State Register within 180 days, the rule is automatically withdrawn. The agency may not adopt the withdrawn rules without again following the procedures of sections 14.05 to 14.28, with the exception of section 14.101, if the noncompliance is approved by the chief administrative law judge. The agency shall report to the Legislative Coordinating Commission, other appropriate committees of the legislature, and the governor its failure to adopt rules and the reasons for that failure. The 180-day time limit of this section does not include:

(1) any days used for review by the chief administrative law judge or the commission if the review is required by law;

(2) days during which the rule cannot be adopted, because of votes by legislative committees under section 14.126; or

(3) days during which the rule cannot be adopted because approval of the legislature is required under section 14.127.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes